Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews by Rhapsody

StoryReview
A Shieldmaiden's Mourning. (PG)
by NeumeIndil.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [4]
Warnings [Hankies needed.]
Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:49 am

You stil leave me speechless and with tears in my eyes Neume, you manage to pack so much emotion, realism vs the battle of how her heart breaks upon realisation. That all in so little words, yet it speaks volumes. Thanks so much (again).
 
 
My Blood, Your Blood (PG-13)
by RobinKa.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [6]
Warnings [Blood; violence]
Fri Jul 04, 2008 4:19 pm

Oh Binks, this is just brilliantly written. What a fight and so amazingly, if not eerily (in the very good sense) written from Carcharoth's perspective. Perfect pacing, perfect tension, action, angst and the bits in between coming from the elves and Beren added to it beautifully!
 
 
August Lineage Indeed (G)
by Viv.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [5]
Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:00 pm

What a great twist, first the romantic couple, reminiscing about the past and who contributed in what regarding Eldarion, but that last line should have come with a beverage alert!
 
 
Who The Sword Devours (R)
by NancyBrooke.

Chapters [12]
Reviews [23]
Warnings [Blood, Guts, Sex, Angst]
Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:02 pm

Oh Nancy, I have been sadly remiss in following, reading and finishing reading this story, although I always intended to complete it (one cannot ignore rl when it knocks down your door). As I said in my first review, it took me a while to get used to Boromir's voice, but once that sunk in, you took me on quite a journey. This evening I sat down for my mefa review, perhaps I can share it in advance with you, although slightly edited (and I hope it makes it up for the long wait a bit) Wink smiley face

This story might ruffle some feathers of proud Boromir defenders, but I found your take on him confirming all what I don’t like about this character, yet you did something marvellous with this character that gave me more insight in what circumstances he lived and what formed him. This story feels complete and even though I do know that you love Boromir dearly, I surely can appreciate that you do not shy away from portraying his lesser sides with skill. Boromir holds a great passion for his city and for women, is used to get what he wants, and will use his power to get there if there are any obstacles in the way. Still, I can understand, because after all after so many years and the so-called cabin fever of being contained in this city, I can see why he claims such reprieve. The Battle of Osgiliath is immensely well described, as expected it is full of action, but in order to translate all plans and movements to paper and bring it to your reader, and you conveyed this extremely well.

So we persevered, row by row. We persevered as the dark deepened and the stars faded above us. We persevered until that hour of dark when all souls feel hollow, men shudder and women wake listening; that desolate hour which neither Dawn nor Night seems ever to own, but hangs between unclaimed. It changed hands that night in Osgiliath. We heard the deal struck, though to neither the departing Night nor the coming Dawn, but to Death. It came in a sudden absence of wind, a deepening of dark, a deafness of sound ... This scene alone gave me the shivers and the ‘meeting’ with the Witch King made it appear in the story that all time froze: what a moment!

Still not all make it until the end of the story and at the banks of the Anduin, Boromir realises their own folly:
Then again I tasted the ash of Mordor on my tongue and knew the veracity of the Nazgûl’s vision; my proud ignorance the final arrogance: we were all far beyond saving.. This combined with his stay at Tharbad, far away from his beloved city and Minas Tirith, it seems that Boromir has come to his senses, still though we know he brings his passion for his city and people to Rivendell. Everything in this story links so well together: the blindness and arrogance, understanding of what awaits them and that they just merely bought time. The brief bits with Denethor and Faramir (although a bit longer), reveals their difficult family bonds and yet love and care for another.

Masterfully done Nancy, may I ask if you ever considered to write Hirningail's story before you killed him off?
 

_________________
Last edited by Rhapsody on Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:07 pm
 
The Cross-Eyed Bear (G)
by NancyBrooke.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [4]
Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:01 pm

You know Nancy, I just can see Mal walking away, his hands tucked behind the suspenders with that smirk that is just so him. Just that look in his eyes and with the thoughts you write. Typically Mal, knowing he got Jayne's attention fully now.
 
 
Unbitted Lust (PG-13)
by NancyBrooke.

Chapters [2]
Reviews [1]
Warnings [Love, Sex and Lust]
Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:39 am

It was great to watch the scene again, illustrating that vampires turned human again also live with the memories of what they did in the past, the severe concequences.Your writing fills in the gap what she's thinking, while she tries to strike a balance between who she might once have been and the demon named Darla (and the memory of all her actions). Greatly drabbled!
 
 
Old Friends (PG)
by trekqueen.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [3]
Warnings [spoilers to movie Generations]
Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:47 pm

This is Star Trek at it's finest: great dialogue and vivid narrative in a blend where every word counts. I love the bantering between those two and I can just see those two in front of me!
 
 
Suicide Is Painless (G)
by RobinKa.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [3]
Warnings [None]
Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:03 am

Although I didn't think of Marylin Manson immediately when I saw the title, but of M.A.S.H. theme song instead... it still fits the bill perfectly. I could not help to wonder why Maedhros is so willingly seeking out the fires instead of the Everlasting Dark that should be his lot. At the end, he finally chooses his own end and still defies the Valar. What a brilliant find Binks, there is so much more to read between the lines and you captured that.
 
 
Summer Daze (R)
by Marta.

Chapters [3]
Reviews [4]
Warnings [erotic content; masturbation; prostitution]
Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:50 am

This was a very enjoyable piece about a very cocky Faramir finding his reprieve. The shades of Boromir even popped up here, the traces of nobility was quite palpable. I think however you need to go over this piece again to correct typos and such to give it the final touch it deserves.
 
 
Ocean's Song: Part 1 (NC-17)
by Aeode.

Chapters [15]
Reviews [13]
Warnings [Consentual sex between adults/Violent nature of to]
Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:09 am

Yesterday I was catching up with chapter 2 and 3 and thought... hmmm let's hope for an update soon. Smile smiley face Ancient Nestad/Numenel watching over Gaerwen, the plot thickens leaving me wondering and wanting to know how he will aid her to reach her purpose.... And ah Radagast, I wonder what explanation he can provide for Yavanna once they meet.