Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews by Galadriel8891

StoryReview
LOTR- Condensed (Dribble) (PG)
by Rous.

Chapters [2]
Reviews [10]
Warnings [Terribly, terribly A/U]
Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:28 pm

Hilarious! I think you've captured what several of us fans wonder - why didn't Elrond just tackle Isildur, it would have saved the world a bunch of time! Ah well...The introduction was well-done, and set up the whole idea behind the fic perfectly.
 
 
LOTR- Condensed (Dribble) (PG)
by Rous.

Chapters [2]
Reviews [10]
Warnings [Terribly, terribly A/U]
Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:28 pm

Hilarious! I think you've captured what several of us fans wonder - why didn't Elrond just tackle Isildur, it would have saved the world a bunch of time! Ah well...The introduction was well-done, and set up the whole idea behind the fic perfectly.
 
 
The Trees Remember (R)
by VanatheEverYoung.

Chapters [37]
Reviews [101]
Warnings [Holocaust ref.; violence; sexual situations]
Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:58 am

Excellently written ending - there was such a ring of finality to it! I've enjoyed reading this (and following the last few chapters), and look forward to seeing more of your work, either LOTR, HP, or Narnia based. Thanks for writing such a great story!
 
 
A Star Connection (PG)
by TowerofPearl.

Chapters [2]
Reviews [9]
Warnings [none]
Sat Dec 24, 2005 10:43 pm

You have an interesting premise here, and I'd like to see where it goes. Your story (thus far) is well-written and fairly fluid, and you seem to know your way around the canon of both fandoms. I'll be interested to see how Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon get to Middle-earth - keep up the good work!
 
 
Alone Facing Darkness (PG-13)
by Galadriel8891.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [35]
Warnings [Mild Violence; Character Death]
Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:36 pm

Hello everyone! Thanks for leaving all the fantastic reviews. I did have to set the story aside for a while, because my muse went on strike (again), making me want to go Smash smiley face. But it came back after I got all of my college application essays finished. So, to comment:

VanaTheEverYoung - Much thanks to my beta! She's helped me work out most of the plot snags, as well as the entire "legend" that is the backstory of my fic. Thanks for leaving the reviews here and on HPFF!

MarzBar - I can tell that you're following my story whenever I update, and I really appreciate getting your feedback. I've been trying to be faithful to canon but...the time has come for some drastic changes. I can't promise that I won't kill Haldir (haven't decided on that yet), but there will be a non-canon character death that upsets some people. I won't say where or when, because that will spoil the plot. But, dear readers, consider yourselves warned.

Envinyatar - Glad you like it (seeing as it's a crossover too). I'm striving to write a believable one that meshes to two worlds without completely destroying the original plots and characters, and I'm glad that you find it so. The movie dialogue was a real problem for me when I started - it's especially glaring in the earlier chapters. But now that the plot is going to change, I don't think it'll be as much of a problem.

Vanyariel - Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying it. Currently, I have finshed writing chapter thirteen, and have started on fourteen. Keep your eyes out for an update!

Eyborg - Yes, I will be taking the Trio through most of the LOTR plot. I can't wait to write the part where Hermione and Éowyn meet; I've already got the scenes in my head! Those two will be wonderful together, like sisters.

Again, everyone, thanks for the reviews! They keep me going. Very Happy smiley face
 
 
The Trees Remember (R)
by VanatheEverYoung.

Chapters [37]
Reviews [101]
Warnings [Holocaust ref.; violence; sexual situations]
Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:24 pm

Vana! Remember what you said about throwing a toddler-like tantrum, wishing that the story I am writing was yours? Well, that's just about the reaction I'm getting with this one! It's brilliant! You've obviously done your research - both for world history and Middle-earth history - and have done an excellent job of intertwining the two "worlds". I loved the scene with the three Elves and the car...I laughed so much while reading it. And you built up the relationship between Haldir and Elaneth so well. How do you write with so much backstory? I think my brain would fry. (Well, you've seen my mind spills via e-mail, so you know how disorganized my thoughts are.)

Honestly, what I really like about this story is that it could conceivably fit in to what actually happened. Always a plus.

Keep it up - I expect nothing short of spectacular from my favorite Beta!

~Linaewen/Galadriel8891
 
 
Alone Facing Darkness (PG-13)
by Galadriel8891.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [35]
Warnings [Mild Violence; Character Death]
Wed Jun 22, 2005 12:03 am

First of all...Thank you too all who have reviewed this story so far. Since it began as my first attempt at fanfiction, I was surprised by how well it was received. Reading reviews really makes my day Very Happy smiley face and has encouraged me to continue this huge monstrosity of a story (I just have this feeling it’ll be immensely long), even when my muse decided to go on strike for about three months as I was halfway through writing the seventh chapter (which, I hope, will be posted sometime in the near future). Fortunately he/she/it (haven't been able to determine yet) has come back full force. My muse's activity is...how to phrase it...inversely proportional to my workload for school. So hopefully updates will come faster now that summer break is here!

Thanks, SpaceWeavil, for pointing out the typos I failed to pick up - greatly appreciated. And to VanaTheEverYoung - yes, yes, I know that English isn't Westron. (I'd already begun posting this story before the admin posted their notice on the homepage.) It would indeed make for a rather funny story if the characters couldn't communicate, but as you pointed out it would take too much time to resolve that. I did struggle with that factoid for a while but - forgive me - chose to ignore it so that the story could move along. About the movie scenes/dialogue - I've gone back and reread my chapters and figure that you're very right. I've decided to move away from that a little more because I know that LOTR-oriented readers (such as OSA members, of course) will be thoroughly bored by it. It's a mistake I made in another one of my fics and I don't intend to do it again - not too much, at any rate, because some of that dialogue is necessary. I’ve also started posting on a HP-related site, so I have to make it clear for those readers.

Haha, about Ron...one of my friends is my HP-canon beta, and we both shook our heads one day and said we abuse the poor bloke too much. You'll see what I mean.

Thanks for your support, everyone. This is going to be a very long fic, I believe. But I know where it's headed and even have the ending already written. Now the crucial part is how to get there.

~Galadriel8891
 
 
Homecomings (G)
by Marta.

Chapters [8]
Reviews [3]
Warnings [n/a]
Sat May 21, 2005 1:19 pm

Nicely done. You have captured the voices of the different characters very effectively; the thoughts sound exactly like they would be coming from the various characters. The emotions, too, are conveyed such that the drabbles are all poignant and moving. Makes me want to read more stories in the same vein...but maybe that's asking too much. Very Happy smiley face
 
 
Worth Any Price (G)
by Galadriel8891.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [7]
Warnings [None]
Sat May 14, 2005 6:00 pm

Thank you all for you reviews. I think I just might take the suggestion to write a fic about Smeagol's life just after he found the Ring...look for it sometime! Smile smiley face
 
 
If I Should Return... (PG-13)
by Cormamin.

Chapters [1]
Reviews [2]
Warnings [Angst]
Sat May 07, 2005 4:47 pm

Very well written for a first story. I have to say that your words were an excellent look into Faramir's head. The only thing that bothered me were the few spelling and/or grammatical errors - nothing a beta reader can't fix. There's a place on the forum where you can post to find one for future stories.

Other than that, your storry was nicely crafted. Good job!