Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews by AngmarAndElfhild

StoryReview
The Circles: Book One: The Triumph of The Shadow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [44]
Reviews [92]
Warnings [Violence, torture, BDSM, rape, mature themes]
Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:08 am

Aeode said
I absolutely love your work! Your personification of good and evil is enthralling, and the feelings and emotions of the characters palpable. Everything about this is just simply amazing. Smile smiley face


Aeode, thank you very much for your kind words.

Elfhild and I have written two other books, which you can find on OSA by checking out our profile, or by visiting our webpage at http://www.geocities.com/circlesofpower

Some chapters on the webpage feature 19th century art.

Thanks for reading.

Angmar and Elfhild
 
 
The Circles: Book Three: To Escape a Dark Destiny (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [40]
Reviews [4]
Warnings [Violence, mature themes, horror]
Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:19 pm

Gordis, the bird in this chapter was the common European song thrush, the type of bird that Tolkien might have been writing about in The Hobbit. They are reported to be beautiful singers with flute-like voices. It took some research to do the bird justice, but I enjoyed every moment of it.

It never seemed logical to me that all of Sauron's vassal peoples were happy with the situation. There are always rebels who want their country to be autonomous and free from overlords.
 
Glad you enjoyed the chapter.

Angmar and Elfhild
 
 
The Circles: Book Three: To Escape a Dark Destiny (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [40]
Reviews [4]
Warnings [Violence, mature themes, horror]
Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:17 pm

"Olórë Hwárin Mallë
What a wonderful chapter Elfhild, delightfully gothic!"

Thank you. There's more where that came from. Smile smiley face

"Truly fascinating how the two girls recollect the same events so differently. Why was Elfled so priviledged as to remember an erotic dream, while Elfhild experienced a nightmare?"

The Nazgûl has his own plans, which are known only to him...

"I loved how the scars disappeared with the light - nice touch."

Now Elfhild remembers the flash of the blade which the Nazgûl used to pierce her skin. However, nothing like that happened to Elffled - or did it? Whilst she was unconscious, who only knows what happened? Obviously, a cut somehow got on her neck, apparently inflicted by a weapon which can cause wounds which disappear in the light of the sun. Or perhaps they do not really disappear at all, but merely become invisible to mortal eyes. Smile smiley face

Keep reading.... *mysterious smile*

Elfhild
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Tue May 22, 2007 4:41 pm

ATTENTION

We decided to divide Book Two into two parts. The third book, "To Escape a Dark Destiny," has just been added to OSA. Chapters 25 to 43 of Book Two can be found there. Many of the reviews in this section apply to chapters in the third book.

Here is the address of "To Escape a Dark Destiny" -

http://www.openscrolls.net/fanfic/story.php?no=3450
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:22 am

Agan,

An ent, perhaps, or maybe a huorn. You will just have to wait and find out. Smile smiley face

Angmar
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:05 pm

Agan,

We are glad that you enjoyed this chapter. It seems that this mysterious stranger will leave them alone... for now. But will he be back when they are no longer what he considers "little girls?"

No, Elfhild is really not brazen at all. While she is the more outgoing of the two girls, she is actually very modest. She has her fantasies, yes, but they are mostly innocent.

"She had always tried to maintain her purity, both in mind and in body. Dreams and daydreams of an intimate nature both embarrassed her greatly and aroused her curiosity, for she was but a maiden and knew little of the secrets of the physical expression of love. She did not like to let her mind dwell upon such matters, though, for maids who thought of naught but flesh and frolic were wanton and simpleminded, dull-witted and uninteresting. ... Though she often admired the lads of her village from afar and took great delight in their attentions, anything more than a kiss or an embrace was reserved for maidenly conjecture and the marriage bed."
--Book One, Chapter 10

Elffled is the quiet one. So far, we don't know much about what she thinks, except her opinions of her sister and the escape attempt. We do know that she has developed an intense dislike for the Easterling who kissed her (what girl wouldn't strongly object to such treatment), but she also has had amorous dreams about him.

In real situations where people are captured by the enemy and taken away from their homeland, they will change and adapt. If they don't, they might end up like poor Breguswith, who went mad, or simply be killed. Even people who are not faced with war or horrible tragedies change over the course of time.

We might wonder what effect this strange interlude will have on the twins. *grins* No spoilers.

Blood is always so useful when formulating spells... *grins*

Angmar and Elfhild
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:11 pm

"Oh, my! What a wondrous chapter, Angmar and Elfhild! Incredibly captivating! And ending in a cliff-hanger...
I know now what you meant when writing "Stay tuned for more"!"

Agan,

Thank you. When readers are happy with our stories, this makes the eyes of all the red-eyed creatures in Middle-earth grow brighter. Smile smiley face

"I guess they met a nazgul there somewhere at the banks of Anduin. Am I right? The mysterious stranger can hardly be anything else with his talk of eyes and his sniffing and his mind-games. But what was a nazgul doing there all alone - resting his Fell Beast?"

Indeed, he was a Dark Rider, but his intentions must remain veiled for some time to come. Since the war was going so badly, perhaps he just wanted to get away for a while and forget everything. After all, it is very close to Midsummer Eve and Night. *grins* Perhaps it was a chance meeting, or maybe not...

Tolkien envisioned the Nine with the potential to be very timid with a tendency to procrastinate and shirk their duties. The below Tolkien quote is dated April 2, 1936.

"...the great captain, was actually dismayed. He had been shaken by the fire of Gandalf, and began to perceive that the mission on which Sauron had sent him was one of great peril to himself both by the way, and on his return to his Master (if unsuccessful) and he had been doing ill, so far achieving nothing save rousing the power of the Wise and directing them to the Ring. [...] Escaping a wound that would have been as deadly to him as the Mordor-knife to Frodo (as was proved at the end), he withdrew and hid for a while, out of doubt and fear both of Aragorn and especially of Frodo. But fear of Sauron, and the forces of Sauron's will was the stronger." - "A Knife in the Dark," The Lord of the Rings: A Reader's Companion by Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull, p. 180

Timid and fearful, yes, even afraid of Frodo. This is similar to the gradual giving over to cowardice by Melkor in the Silmarillion. He was terrified to face Fingolfin and only did so to save his reputation. After that, he refused to come out and the Valar had to drag him.

Remember in Book One when Udu was convinced he was going to die because his amulet had been damaged? In our portrayals of the Nazgûl they are timid but not total cowards.

"Now that I think about it, I have no idea what the date might be. It is what - July 3019? Or later? I guess the battle at Helm's Deep had already been lost and the nazgul had to be recalled to Barad-Dur for punishment? Or was the poor wraith right on his way there taking his last breath of fresh air?"

The Battle of Helm's Deep was fought on June 14, 3019. The army of Mordor withdrew totally on the night of June 15th. (See "Requiem for Heroes," Book Two.)

"Games Played by Moonlight," the second part of a three part series, takes place on the night of June 18, 3019. The Army of Mordor would probably be almost 30 miles away from Helm's Deep at this time. However, the Nazgûl can fly just about anywhere.

Here is a list of chapters which take place on June 18:
Descent; Knights-Errant; Blighted Spring; The Aftermath of the Storm; The Barbarians; How the Ignorant Grope; Cup of Kindness; Land of the Dead; Two Healers, One Harlot; An Argument Between Sisters; Mists along the Anduin; and Games Played by Moonlight.

"The Nazgûl received their own summons that day in July, but therein lies another tale." - Book One, "Requiem for Heroes." So the Nazgûl still have almost a month of freedom left.

"And the description of the Moon was very well written and quite appropriate to the theme.
I am so very grateful for including this stray nazgul. Love them, as you surely know."

There will be more Nazgûl appearances along the way. You can expect amorous encounters from them, but not too much heroism. Smile smiley face

Angmar
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:15 pm

Agan,

There are so many dangers facing the girls... the Mordorian army, the slavers, the orcs, wolves and wargs, and their own imaginations.

Stay tuned for more. >Smile smiley face

Angmar and Elfhild
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:14 am

Agan, Sang-mí will return and it is promised that in Book Three she will tell her tale. Elfhild and I hope to have an update soon. Thank you and everyone for reading.

Angmar and Elfhild
 
 
The Circles: Book Two: Journey of Sorrow (R)
by AngmarAndElfhild.

Chapters [24]
Reviews [79]
Warnings [Violence, rape, very mature themes]
Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:21 pm

Agan,

We are glad you are enjoying it. Elfhild has remembered her Kingly Rider, but the question is - does he remember her? Will she see him again?

Yes, they would have to pass by Minas Morgul to get into Mordor. This is a shadowy area in Tolkien's world. Tolkien purposely kept the readers in the dark about the appearance of the Morgul Pass by taking Frodo and Sam through Shelob's Lair. In the unpublished material, a storm comes up and makes it impossible to discern much of anything.

In an AU, this area is a veritable playground for the fanfiction writer, and we are tempted to play in it. *grins*

Angmar and Elfhild