Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "The Fallen Prince"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
LadySolaris
Joined: 31 May 2004
Reviews: 10
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:19 pm

This was very vivid and well written. Go you! Wink smiley face
I have only one problem with it: Haldir is not a Prince, he is the Marchwarden of Lothlorien. Other than that, this was very good! Very Happy smiley face

~LadySolaris
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
saborice
Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Reviews: 33
Location: 
Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:49 pm

I know he's not a real prince. It's like a metaphor. But Thanx! Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Wed Jul 07, 2004 3:44 pm

Love the alliteration ("How sad to see the fallen prince") and the repetition of really good lines. I can see why you don't want to remove the word "prince." I don't think it's a problem. This line bugged me a little: "Still searching for a way out of death." In movieverse, we saw bunches of elves die in the Last Alliance. My guess is the Lorien elves, many of whom would have been at the Last Alliance, would understand the risks. And elves don't have the fear of death that humans have. After all, when they're slaughtered in war, they get invited to the Great Pool Party of Mandos. It isn't really quite so final for them. Wink smiley face

The poem itself is lovely, though. I enjoyed it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Monaleoht
Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Reviews: 353
Location: I travel with the wind, as free as an eagle soaring the great firmament above Arda
Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:19 am

Vivid and well done. Well written, though the "flow" was a little interrupted in the second verse. A lovely poem though! Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
FairlightMuse
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Reviews: 14
Location: 
Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:54 am

I enjoy allof your poems but I think this one is my favorite. It has just the perfect dose of emotion behind it. Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 504
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Wed Nov 17, 2004 4:07 pm

Okay, I did not see the summary, so I was a bit lost. However, I did enjoy the poem. I first thought of Theodred, though. Just goes to show. Anyway, thank you for sharing. It really is nice.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 325
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:45 am

I was slightly confused when I read it too, but it's a wonderful poem. I agree with Rous when she says she's reminded by Theodred. I was, too.

Then I read the reviews, and oh, Haldir issit? Razz smiley face Lovely poem!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:39 am

You have a bad typo in the last line---derseve instead of deserve.

I didn't think of Haldir, I assumed Theodred. Probably because Haldir is not a prince. And I know you know, it just confused me!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website