Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Moving Mountains"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:31 pm

I don't really know what to say. This piece went to a place where fic rarely goes and that's alarmingly close to reality. I stayed with my sister-in-law and helped her through a similar circumstance, and all I can say is that you must have been there. Your story took me right back. There's no one to blame, of course, but these things are so hard on the family. Thank you so much for writing this, and for keeping such a careful narrative hand on it the whole time. Kind of like Saradoc's reassuring embrace.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Ariel

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 49
Location: 
Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:56 pm

As I said when beta'ing this, it's a wonderfully real fic that touches on things that are not often spoken of. It was real and in character for all involved. Well and kindly done. Thank you.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Eyborg

Joined: 08 May 2004
Reviews: 102
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Fri Aug 13, 2004 2:36 pm

Very good and very well written story (as always by you Sil)! Smile smiley face And very sad... Bawl smiley face But I'm glad everything went well in the end... Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Anna

Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Reviews: 108
Location: Sweden
Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:52 pm

I am in complete awe...this was lovely and awful, if you know what I mean. So, so sad...

I think I understand 'baby blues' a little bit better after reading this. How utterly devastating it must´ve been for the entire family. I have no experience of it in RL, but the story feels very real.

Extremely well written. Wonderfully shown contrasts between the two families. Warmth and reassurance in one family, and despair and sorrow in the other. Yet, deep and true love in both. It made my heart ache.

Thank you for writing this, Sil.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rohanion

Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Reviews: 216
Location: uk
Sun Feb 27, 2005 5:20 pm

Touched a nerve! I knew after the first few lines what the problem was, it was so real to life.

I liked the way you went way back into the hobbits early years, it gave the story a sense of history.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:16 pm

Awesome, Sil, and so moving to learn that tragedy, also, can grow beneath the sweet and rolling hills of the Shire. You draw a vivid, tangible, evocative picture of a family. Eglantine's anger and pitifulness together were particularly strong and realistically rendered.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Alassante

Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Reviews: 459
Location: Hitchhiking to Rivendell
Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:12 pm

I posted this at MEFA but I wanted to post it here as well:

Moving Mountains was a real surprise. In addition to the fact I do not read hobbit fictions normally and, therefore, do not know any of the hobbits except the main five, I also have never expected to see a story about a topic such as postpartum depression. There are stories of the elves that talk about elves fading due to grief and the stories of men that talk about mental health issues like insanity such as Denathor or being “possessed” as Theoden was. In fact I do believe I have read about both Denathor wife and Theoden’s sister suffering from depression but I am not sure if that is canon or fanon. But to talk about something wrong with a (normally seen as happy) hobbit that only now in modern times do we realize how serious it can be (postpartum depression) is truly a mark of a daring writer. SilverMoonLady tackled the subject from various angles, the anger at her brother that the sister in law felt as well as the helplessness of the oldest daughter who tried to keep it from her father how bad it was. It was good to see how it did affect the various people involved. Even though Merry and Pippin were both in the story, neither was the main character, which is another departure from the normal, a mark of a brave writer. But as usual, SilverMoonLady does not disappoint and has valid reasons to be a brave writer – she has incredible writing skills that allow her to write whatever she wants and excel at it. She could probably write an Algebra book and make the subject seem beautiful and elegant as well as interesting.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile