Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Interrupted Journeys: Part Three--Journeys Begin"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 378
Location: 
Sat Jan 29, 2005 2:37 am

awww, baby Legolas is too cute. Ah Ellisk, I just love Thranduil when he's done properly and you always do him so very well. I love your writing style, so easy to just get into the story and go, that before you know it, I'm at the end and going...huh? what? Well who is it darn it?! Now, I know how things are right now, but you better update and not leave us hanging too long.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
SpaceWeavil

Joined: 27 May 2004
Reviews: 365
Location: Looking at shiny things
Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:00 am

I think this is the sweetest 'little Legolas' story I've read so far. He's so cute without being sickly sweet, and his behaviour's so realistic for a child. I also love the way you write Thranduil. His nobility comes across so strongly in your writing, and you bring it across just with his dialogue and small bits of description rather than thrusting the point forward, which I admire greatly. I understand that it might be a while before this is updated and so I shan't nag about updates, but please update soon Very Happy smiley face Laughing smiley face Seriously, I am very much looking forward to reading more of this, since the writing alone is such a joy to read.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Sat Jan 29, 2005 10:38 pm

Thanks for the peek inside Thranduil's head. I thought his memories of Menegroth and what happened there were very stark, highlighted by the lush beauty of his garden. I suppose his current under-mountain halls remind him a lot of the Menegroth. How bittersweet. Legolas as a child was charming, especially "Sarcasm is not becoming, ada." lol
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
picara

Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Reviews: 73
Location: Doriath
Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:11 am

Glad you've continued it. I am looking forward to seeing what happens to these characters. It seems that Thranduil's wife and a few others are not mentioned in this prologue. Is that a sign of things to come?
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SpaceWeavil

Joined: 27 May 2004
Reviews: 365
Location: Looking at shiny things
Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:15 pm

I love the fact that the other members of Thranduil's family are showcased in this story, and details given about Oropher's life as well. Those characters are so sketchy in the canon texts that it's great to see them fleshed out, and especially since it's done in such a thoughtful and realistic way, with such great writing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 378
Location: 
Wed Feb 09, 2005 6:21 am

*sigh* Ell, have I ever told you how much I love the way you do Thranduil? I adored the little scene between Dieneryn and Orohper. That was just lovely. I really enjoy your writing style as well, it just flows so nicely. I'm with Space on fleshing out little known characters, especially when done with such style. You're a classy girl Elliska. Coming back to edit...Who is in the dang GARDEN? I almost forgot, the second chapter was so good. hehe
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
picara

Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Reviews: 73
Location: Doriath
Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:25 am

I enjoyed the hints about Engwe's past and the troubles that are going to arise with the Men in the last two chapters. I guess you are going to run a little parallel of Thranduil's and Legolas's birth/early youth with these flashbacks and your "current time" story. Interesting idea and I hope it indicates that Legolas's mother is going to survive at least a little while since Thranduil's mother is still around. Still enjoying the story. Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DarkElfChilde

Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Reviews: 29
Location: I'm located somewhere
Sat Mar 19, 2005 12:22 am

Ooo, this is really good. Please continue. Very Happy smiley face I enjoy stories with Legolas and Thranduil. Well done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile
SpaceWeavil

Joined: 27 May 2004
Reviews: 365
Location: Looking at shiny things
Thu Apr 21, 2005 10:30 am

I have been so lax in reviewing this fic and I feel lousy for that. Finally I have had a chance to read your latest chapters, now that work is slowing down a bit, and I am so glad I finally made the time to do so. I still find it amazing, even after reading 10 chapters and knowing how well you handle your characters, that you can still surprise me with the depth and colour you give to Thranduil. This fic puts my own lame attempts at capturing him to shame. I have never seen such a well rounded and realistic portrayal of him - something that is aided both by your skills at creating these 'moments' from his life, which were never described in the texts, and from the loveliness of your prose. I almost feel like I know Thranduil as a friend, after having read this story.

I promise from now on to be more diligent with my watched story alerts, because this really is such a joy to read.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 378
Location: 
Thu Apr 21, 2005 1:39 pm

Okay Space, don't feel so bad, I'm barely doing three here and we have negelcted our faithful pal Ellisk too long. I love the end of this chapter the best. The arrival of Thranduil is so beautiful. I'm going to keep this brief so I can get back to my reading, but I have always loved and admired your style and your Thranduil most of all.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message