Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "March Frost"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Eyborg

Joined: 08 May 2004
Reviews: 102
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:55 am

I thought this story was really sweet! Pooooooor Merry... he's so lucky to have Estella with him. It's almost as if she is exorcising the evil spirits who are haunting Merry... beautiful!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 329
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:38 am

Methinks hobbit stories are too sparse in this group. I enjoyed it as well, poor dear (Merry, I mean).
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Hellion

Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reviews: 28
Location: Connecticut
Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:38 pm

Lovely! Lovely! Lovely!

I hardly read about the hobbits. After reading this I think I will read more about them.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:44 pm

Ah! Excellent ... how clever and compassionate of you to focus on Merry's guilt rather than his fear: it would be more lasting. I also thought Estella's fear and the palpable dread a wonderful and incisive metaphor on marraige - how we take our partner's burdens for our own, good and ill. Well, Well done!!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Shanalir
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Reviews: 185
Location: Umm, anyone seen my map?
Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:24 pm

Wow! I like. A good rendition of PTSD, and its effect on not just the one who experienced it, but also on those close to them. I definitely enjoyed.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
Alassante

Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Reviews: 464
Location: Hitchhiking to Rivendell
Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:14 pm

Another one I reviewed at MEFA I wanted to post the review here as well:

Silver Moon Lady is an incredible writer with an eloquent style. This story touches on the after effects of the War of the Ring on the hobbits as well as the rest of the Fellowship. Coming from the Shire, I imagine that the hobbits would be extreme since they had lived a life of such peace and harmony. SML touches beautifully on this with this tale of the nightmares that Merry suffers after the war and how his wife handles this. Once the shire was exposed to Saruman, their innocence is gone and his wife,Estella, is a sign of that. It is very sad that Merry has nightmares but realistic as well. SML shows in a touching and impactful way how Merry was haunted by his experience with Eowyn and the Witch King. He is unable to move past that part, at least at night during his dreams. I love how she ended it with his wife growing angry at this nightmare that was tormenting her beloved husband and she shouts “Go back to whatever grave holds your rotted bones and trouble us no more!” And finally Merry sleeps peacefully for some time.

SML's writing style is beautiful and elegant, reminds me very much of a classical writer. Yet it is very easy to read and flows well.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 507
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:35 pm

Very nicely done. There is not much I could add to what has already been said, so I will leave it at that. Thank you for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo