Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Fell Beast II"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
ellisk

Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Reviews: 310
Location: Icon by Alassante! Wow!
Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:55 pm

Ok, I was chuckling along at the image of the Witch King walking Fluffy, giggling at lines like, "...had now given way to irritating baritone squawks," and then I reached: "All the while the Witch King sighed and wondered what would be the best sauce to cook it in." That's as far as I got before cracking up entirely. And then the Witch King tossing it in the sewer and then having to go find it! You are sick. Loved the ending.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Eruanna

Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Reviews: 19
Location: Dor-Cuarthol, betwixt the Bow and the Helm...
Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:20 pm

Weavil:

I love reading your fic because of your expertise in word choices and drama, but you are also great at painting FUNNY images, as well! Laughing smiley face This tongue-in-cheek short story is a real laugh-provoker for the hard-core Tolkien fans who like a good chuckle and a poking of fun at canon!

I liked the use of "empty cowl"--this really conjures the images of the wraiths. Could be used in a serious fic, too.

Fluffy, indeed! Even the Nine had to have their fun! Bounce smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 329
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:29 am

Laughing smiley face

Space, I love your Fell Beast series. Do more! Thanks for lightening up my day a little.

Somehow, I could relate a lot of pet stories (had tons, inclusive of chickens) of my own with this. You can really describe it effectively in a sense that I couldn't help but laugh and remember! Very Happy smiley face

Can't help but chuckle at the thought of Khamul acting like a sullen child (quite reminisce of me, as a child, and my parents chucked poor Hitam/Blacky, my cat, somewhere and I cried until they brought him back. He died being hit by a car a few weeks later.) Sad smiley face

^_^
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
VanatheEverYoung
Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Reviews: 106
Location: USA
Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:58 am

Hehe. I needed a laugh today. I'm amazed that you can switch from dark and evil to humorous so easily. Laughing smiley face Looking forward to more adventures with Fluffy ... maybe???? Please???? You know, Fell Beast III: The Return of the Fluffy could be a big hit. Laughing smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
inglor

Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Reviews: 201
Location: Not here, not there, not anywhere
Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:41 pm

You show your skill in subtle ways lady. The shear absurdity of the whole thing... what a hoot! Laughing smiley face Fics like this give the whole genre reason for existence.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SilverMoonLady

Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Reviews: 251
Location: Breaking in a Brandybuck... *wicked grin*
Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:14 pm

Yay!!!!!! More Fluffy! *giggle* It's a fine line to walk when trying to write funny and not stupid, but you do it so very well! Very Happy smiley face Hope ennui finds you occasionally, as I am truly enjoying this a great dealSmile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Ingole
Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 36
Location: Washington State, USA
Fri Mar 04, 2005 12:31 am

Ah, na vedui!

Been waiting (and waiting...) Sly, goofy, silly with perfect pace and phrasing. I loves whimsy, I does... and this is whimsy at its best. Smacks delightfully of Tolkien's own fits of fancy in his quirkier gems like Roverandum.

Many thanks for continuing, and thanks in advance for the next installment (a plea as subtle as the proverbial ten pound maul...)
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
inglor

Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Reviews: 201
Location: Not here, not there, not anywhere
Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:02 pm

Though I like WK, your portrayal of Khamul is the crusher... Khamul the Pouty Easterling... blahahhaaha.

I really love your dry humor and deadpan delivery. you really are very talented/skilled

Oh yeah and "Smokey, the incontinent warg" had me rolling.
 

_________________
Last edited by inglor on Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:05 pm
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:32 am

You wacky girl!! Very well done; the ordinary, day-to-day plot points in this story (walking the 'pet', flushing it, missing it, having to take care of it yourself ...) were so well dressed up in the Witch King's cloak I never recognized them until each punch line! So fun to read ...
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 379
Location: 
Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:12 pm

Oh my gosh Space, we have GOT to get t-shirts made. FREE FLUFFY! Too funny. Girl, no one does humor like you do. I'm so jealous of your ability to write something as profoundly dark and lovely as the Witch King and, smack in the middle of it, come up with something as wonderfully funny as this. I kinda wanna spank that damn Kamul. he he Twisted Evil smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message