Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "...and I will follow you, my Captain"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 379
Location: 
Wed May 11, 2005 7:04 pm

Oh Binka. This is the absolute best thing you have written honey. I need a tissue. The language is so fluid its absolutely poetic my dear. So very terrible it literally made me cry. What a heartbreaking telling of Helm's Deep. One of the best I've ever read. Chapeau bas X trois my little friend. You just keep on amazing me with your command of the english language. Now teach me how to write fic in Polish!
Jesxxx
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Alassante

Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Reviews: 464
Location: Hitchhiking to Rivendell
Wed May 11, 2005 11:03 pm

Binka - this is great! Very touching and sad. Lovely way to portray Haldir, very valiant. And the loyalty of this elf was admirable and sad. Like I said in my PMs, your English is perfect - better than mine. My polish is horrible though. Wink smiley face Very touching story. Keep writing tons more. We likes you precious, we really do! Very Happy smiley face You have very fluid writing style and you tug at the heart strings.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 329
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Fri May 13, 2005 7:55 pm

Binka... I loved it... this is one of the most enjoyable description of Haldir's death, the portrayal is languishly poetic, which I love. *hug* keep it up!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
ellie
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Reviews: 110
Location: Where I am now.
Sun May 15, 2005 10:05 pm

Cool. Very well done! I love the description of the emotion passing through this warrior and his thoughts and feelings. This is the first work by your hand that I've read and I look forward to reading more if this is any indication of your talent. Again, very well done!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
VanatheEverYoung
Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Reviews: 106
Location: USA
Fri May 27, 2005 3:32 am

Wow. That was .... amazing. I'm not usually struck speechless Wink smiley face so take that as a positive comment. As I've said before, your English is perfect, and I wouldn't have known you were Polish unless you told me. I love the ending. It's so bittersweet and just ... well, perfect. I've got to read more of your fics now ...
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
LadyLaurelin

Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Reviews: 4
Location: Walking beneath the trees...
Sat May 28, 2005 6:04 pm

Great, as I told you before! Wink smiley face Thanks for letting me help you!
-Les
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Laiquendi

Joined: 14 May 2005
Reviews: 36
Location: Ireland
Sun Jun 26, 2005 2:21 pm

Wow ! Binka Shocked smiley face

That was incredibly beautiful, packed with emotion and almost reads like a poem. I loved your portrayl of Haldir and the loyalty of the elf was trully touching.

And the ending........ Bawl smiley face

Lai.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rohanion

Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Reviews: 216
Location: uk
Sun Sep 18, 2005 4:59 am

just read this story because it was highlighted as story of the day. Binka, I cannot tell you how sad this was Crying or Very sad smiley face

You had me almost crying - the thought of all thoses elves lining up to leave for the halls of Mandos, with Haldir in the front...it was just heartbreaking . . .


"On your feet, warden, for the battle is over, and Mandos awaits."

"...and I will follow you, my Captain," I stated.

Powerful and emotive writing.... you certainly have lots of talent young lady!

Rohannion
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Rhapsody

Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 479
Location: Maglor's Lap
Sun Sep 18, 2005 9:34 am

Dear Binka,

what an incredible written piece of prose. Chilling, emotional, haunting, moving... The details you add, the thoughts of someone who is to die and death watching how Haldir falls and observes how the rest around him reacts to what is happening.

The Ranger jumped in from darkness, his rough voice calling your name. He managed to catch you as you collapsed. The man bowed his weary head, the sadness of losing a brother-in-arms on his face.

This is just one of the moments that I could so clearly picture when you wrote these three lines. Amazing Binka. You are so incredibly talented! Never doubt yourself honey!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
DarkElfChilde

Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Reviews: 29
Location: I'm located somewhere
Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:54 am

Shocked smiley face Wow...well done. Made me feel all kind of sad reading it.

Poor Haldir... Crying or Very sad smiley face

Stupid Hollywood. Evil or Very Mad smiley face

I like this a lot. Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile