Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Little Stars"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
ellisk

Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Reviews: 310
Location: Icon by Alassante! Wow!
Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:45 pm

Very tragic indeed, Space. You captured the terror of the victims and the violent passion of the sons very well. I also have always liked the image in that letter--this was a great vignette to build around it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rhapsody

Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 479
Location: Maglor's Lap
Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:49 am

Hopefully it was enjoyable to someone out there besides myself.

This is an understatement, I loved it. You capture the utter confusion of this kinslaying, how sad this might be, extremely well. The confusion, the why, it all comes from Nathriel. This vignette is a very well written gap-filler, especially when you read the Silmarillion and wonder why and how Elwing's sons ended up in the cave. Maedhros is just terryfing, is he not? Just turning his back to Nathriel while his men finish her off, for what? It makes me wonder if Maglor would allow such a thing, him being the most weary about it, I guess not. Especially since he did not kill the children. A great vignette Space!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Lainien

Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Reviews: 24
Location: 
Wed Sep 28, 2005 6:59 am

Very terrifying. Maedhros was disgusting and Nathriel's POV was horrifying. I think it portrays the horror of the deed very well.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Elentari

Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 251
Location: Lost in elven dreams...
Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:17 am

Sw, this was beyond description. I agree with the ladies, great vignette, the horror of it becomes all the clearer... Maedhros trying to get away from it by not looking, as if turning his back he would actually be clean of it.
Priceless.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile on ICQ
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Thu Sep 29, 2005 12:55 am

Space, this was an exquisite gap-filler, short and moving. When I read the Silm, I usually regret that some events, tales, characters are only mentioned without further details. Your ficlet was a brilliant example how a splendid writer could be inspired by a discussion on the forum and turn it into a vivid picture of tragedy. Thank you for sharing.

Binka
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ellie
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Reviews: 110
Location: Where I am now.
Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:36 pm

Very sad. Nice insight into Maedhros. I liked the image of the little twins in the cave playing in/by the water. Very well done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 507
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Tue Oct 18, 2005 6:07 am

I think the realization that the attackers were her own kind made this all the more horrifying. Of all the enemies that ran through her head, elves had to be the last she expected. And, their willingness to put children to the sword made them all the more warped. A very nice gap-filler. I sometimes wonder if Tolkien was just a poor writer that he left so many holes, or if he just tried to bite off more than he could chew. On the other hand, I have heard it speculated that he left so much out to encourage others to fill in the blanks. A deep question to ponder.
Thank you for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
isilelensar

Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Reviews: 61
Location: SE Tennessee
Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:25 am

Wow, Space! I loved this, and yet, I hurt for poor Nathriel. To know peace all her life, and then to find such terror and fear and destruction by her own kind? *sob* And she tried her best to protect those boys, to distract the survivng SoF from finding Elrond and Elros, only to be met with her own death. *sniffle*

Since everyone above has said bits and pieces of what I want to say, I'll try not to repeat them. Wink smiley face *glances quickly up at above statement and then glances away all shifty like* Very Happy smiley face

In this tale, I saw Maglor as the cold-blooded monster (runs and hides from hordes of Maglor defenders), ready to kill Nathriel without hesitation. Upon a second reading, it might not have been Maglor at all, but that was my first impression. Very Happy smiley face I saw Maedhros as the benevalent captor even though his intent was to have her killed anyway.

And to leave it in such a way to leave the reader guessing as to what really happened? Those who are well-versed in The Silm will know. Those who aren't find out eventually. You've written this so that the un-Silm reader (hope that made sense) will hopefully want to go read the book and find out more about this particular story. Great job, Space! Thank you for sharing!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
vladazhael

Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Reviews: 147
Location: Gone mad, back later
Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:29 pm

I need to do this "hand injury makes reading easier than typing" thing more often, because it results in my finding things like this. You've done a great job of capturing the monstrous deeds of the eldest sons of Feanor without making them monsters themselves, which is a delicate balance, to say the least.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo