Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Leaves on the Wind (Signalling Storm)"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Lindorien
Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Reviews: 22
Location: 
Fri Sep 05, 2003 2:04 am

I cannot believe there are no reviews yet for this wonderful series of letters. From cautioned hope to despair, you and Faramir carried me. I am sorry how it all ends up, for I fear I read the story.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fileg

Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Reviews: 4
Location: 
Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:24 pm

Every single word perfectly placed, right from the beautiful, mythic sense of the hidden meaning in visible things that the title brings, to the last poignant cry for brothers to stand together while they can.

Please bring us the letters TO Ithilien, now!!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Lindorien
Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Reviews: 22
Location: 
Sat Sep 06, 2003 3:42 pm

fileg said
> Every single word perfectly placed, right from the beautiful, mythic sense of the hidden meaning in visible things that the title brings, to the last poignant cry for brothers to stand together while they can.
>
> Please bring us the letters TO Ithilien, now!!
YES YES!! Do! Gladiator imitation -- 'WRITE IT, WRITE IT, WRITE IT'! Although I fear I shall cry again -- Lindorien
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:30 am

Epistolaries are difficult to do, and are rarely as well-handled as this. If you should choose to write a sequel, it should be the letters written to Faramir. It is impossible to eliminate the image I have of the brothers' reading & re-reading each other's letters, smoothing them out & folding them back until they have permanent creases.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Haleth

Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Reviews: 96
Location: The ruins of Tharbad.
Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:00 am

Faramir's voice is just right. The letters clearly show the admiration and affection he held for older brother. It also shows Faramir's humility and lack of jealousy for Boromir's popularity.

Boromir's inferred responses indirectly develop his character, which is no mean feat considering that the conversation is entirely one sided.

At this point, I guess that seeing the other half of the letters is out of the question? (insert puppy-dog eyes icon here)
 

_________________
Last edited by Haleth on Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:20 pm
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
shadowslayer
Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Reviews: 24
Location: 
Sat Nov 26, 2005 12:02 pm

This is a good story I actually could feel what Faramir was going through Bow smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RakshaTheDemon

Joined: 26 Jul 2006
Reviews: 12
Location: 
Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:02 am

A fitting prelude to the full-blown horrors of Sauron's assault on Gondor; as seen through Faramir's letters to his brother. The last one in particular is both urgent and haunting.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail