Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Estel"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
BellemaineChercoeur

Joined: 28 May 2003
Reviews: 106
Location: 
Wed Sep 10, 2003 5:51 am

Simply lovely!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Aratlithiel
Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Reviews: 2
Location: USA
Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:12 am

Oh, my! Such depth. This was a lovely read and so touching. Elrond seeing his long-dead brother in the face of the boy, the determination (and probable heartbreak) of a mother who KNOWS, Estel beginning to understand that bigger and foreboding things might be coming his way...the history, the atmosphere. Just flawless. Wonderfully done! Thank you for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
sindohte

Joined: 14 May 2003
Reviews: 158
Location: Rubbing up against an Elf
Wed Sep 10, 2003 5:29 pm

What an excellent start to what I hope will become the first of many chapters (hint, hint). You had just the perfect hint of foreshadowing of greater things yet to come for young Estel. Please continue with this story, because I am dying to learn more about our beloved Ranger's childhood in Rivendell.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Maram68

Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 118
Location: West from East
Thu Sep 11, 2003 4:43 pm

It was written with the ultimate craftmanship of your Tolkien muse, which amazes me every time you write. Thank you, for a wonderful read.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Kendra

Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Reviews: 46
Location: USA
Thu Sep 11, 2003 8:40 pm

Very enjoyable fic! I have to say, it made me think and realize just how strong Estel would have to be at such a young age. Very enjoyable story, you painted a vivid and endearing story.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
daw
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Reviews: 8
Location: 
Fri Sep 12, 2003 3:17 pm

One of the things I liked about this story was how it respects the fact that children's thoughts can be very hard to know. We think we know what they are thinking and then they surprise us, as Estel does to Elrond here. I liked the reminder of the child's descent from Elros and also the awkwardness that Gilraen seems to feel. Estel must indeed have felt out of place sometimes. But Elrond is a great tutor, letting Estel pick what he wants to do that day.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 109
Location: 
Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:46 pm

Wow, that was excellent. It tied many things together so well. The whole thing just flowed and read wonderfully.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:58 pm

I sincerely hope you will keep this going. Laughing smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
BittenBuggy

Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Reviews: 98
Location: Busy Being the Queen Of Everything.. And Trying to Catch the Yoda-Copter
Fri Feb 06, 2004 10:52 pm

Excellent read, very well placed. Flows perfectly...
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
GypsieRose

Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Reviews: 45
Location: Illinois, USA
Thu Apr 22, 2004 7:16 pm

That was a simply beautiful little vignette, and it stands beautifully on its own--though I agree that it would be great to see more of Aragorn at this stage in his life.

The only thing is that I keep wondering exactly how old he's supposed to be! Not that that's a big thing.

Lovely story!

--Rose
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo