Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Cursed Commitment"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Rhapsody

Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 479
Location: Maglor's Lap
Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:22 pm

Very nicely drabbled, compact and the mixed emotions are there. I feel for the mother.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:07 pm

This was such a heart-breaking moment. In so few words you captured not only Celebrimbor's need to remain loyal to his father, the gravity and finality of his choice, but also his mother's painful realization that whatever he chose it would turn against him. Very well done! Thank you for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ellie
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Reviews: 110
Location: Where I am now.
Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:29 pm

This is very good and very sad. I pity his mother. Celebrimbor did try to redeem himself and the honor of his house though. I would like to think that maybe Mandos did not keep him for long after his death, for he had done much good in his life, too.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:41 am

"And what of your loyalty to me?" ... No kidding! How difficult for a mother to watch all her children leave forever. And this mama had a gift of foresight, so she must have known what hell they were going to. You've captured all of that in this drabble. *applauds*
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
vladazhael

Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Reviews: 147
Location: Gone mad, back later
Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:42 pm

This is exactly what makes drabbles so powerful - lots of emotion and lots of plot in one small passage. Very nicely done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo