Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Who The Sword Devours"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 678
Location: Texas
Tue May 08, 2007 11:40 pm

NancyB writing smut? Hairy manly smut? Well, I'm paying attention. *licks chops* Post on, mistress.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Rhapsody

Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 479
Location: Maglor's Lap
Wed May 09, 2007 1:50 pm

Very nice, it takes me some time to get used to Boromir's voice. I hope later on you explain or elaborate on how he lost his horse and such, but for now memories of his home keeps him warm.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
vladazhael

Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Reviews: 147
Location: Gone mad, back later
Wed May 09, 2007 9:48 pm

I love this beginning for how you manage to create such a richly detailed world while simultaneously giving us a clear and complex view of Boromir's thoughts. (I can't even balance my own world with my own thoughts most of the time. Wink smiley face) I tend to have a hard time working out the mechanics of the "show, don't tell" maxim of writing, but if I were to give an example of how to do it right, this would be it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 678
Location: Texas
Wed May 09, 2007 11:33 pm

..."crossroads of myth and memory"... You know, this is exactly the perfect phrase for Boromir. He's so much a character of legend and heroics, but also *real*, if you know what I mean. Not fantastical like Elrond or Galadriel or even Aragorn or the hobbits. Boromir is not only a man, he's *the* man, the epitome of man. So he's both myth (larger than life) and memory (down-to-earth nostalgia).

This style is unusual, but I really like it. It fits Boromir, the closet poet.

Ah. At the end of chapter 1, I understand the reference to David. Slick, that.
 

_________________
Last edited by Viv on Fri May 11, 2007 12:33 am
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
DreadLadyFreya

Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Reviews: 76
Location: A fantasy world, with beach front property
Thu May 10, 2007 12:49 am

Hmm, Boromir as King David, eh? I'd like to hope that Hirningail fairs better than poor Uriah, and Boromir will triumph where David could not. But, alas, my dear Boromir doesn't have the best track record, does he?
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Aganuzir

Joined: 31 May 2005
Reviews: 94
Location: 
Thu May 10, 2007 6:22 am

Awesome beginning! I loved every word of it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Uma
Joined: 09 May 2007
Reviews: 1
Location: 
Sun May 13, 2007 5:18 am

I have watched the crafting of this story for a long time. To see it in the light of day is a joy. The author is a rare gem in fan fiction - she is able to emulate the style of the master but with her own unique hand. This is a finely wrought and sensitive piece which illuminates Boromir, the true man. I am humbled by the delicacy and vision demonstrated by the author.

Spellbound waiting for more....

Uma
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
StasiaM

Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Reviews: 1
Location: Somewhere in my living room...
Fri May 18, 2007 10:16 pm

This is really a joy to read, Nancy! I'm anxiously awaiting the next chapters.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
Aganuzir

Joined: 31 May 2005
Reviews: 94
Location: 
Wed May 23, 2007 8:05 pm

I love the story more and more. The style is unique. No, it is not an emulation of the Master's: often it is smoother, more expressive, more evocative than the Master's (I know it is a blasphemy, but I have to say it).

As a nazgul fan I have read quite a few fanfics describing the battle of Osgiliath - but this one is the best by far. The growing tension - the feel of a powerful mind directing the enemies this time - the gathering darkness and fear - and here they come, the Nazgul led by the Witch-King.
"Minutes, days, months seemed to fly past in the eddies of his cloak: all blood, all fire, all bones, all dust." Every word is a gem.

The only thing that seems wrong to me is the description of the horses: as 'horrifically despoiled things." This is a bow to the movie - in the book the horses that the nazgul rode all the way to the Shire were perfectly normal. Gandalf says as much, and nobody who saw the riders commented on the weirdness of their horses. The only despoiled horse in the LOTR is Mouth's - but it was used in a parley and was meant to horrify the other side.

I wonder - if Boromir sits in Tharbad nursing his wounds long enough, he is bound to see the Nine again - on their way to the Shire. They crossed the Gwathlo around September 20-21, according to the Tale of Years. I so hope, Nancy, you will let Boromir see how THEY managed to cross the river.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
inglor

Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Reviews: 201
Location: Not here, not there, not anywhere
Wed May 23, 2007 10:54 pm

I have been awaiting anything by Nancy. This is why I still read fanfiction. Real crafts(wo)manship, real skill. Fun to read not only for the story, but how it is told. The phrases that you read over and over because they say so much, you want to remember how she did it. Old skool writing, each sentence a paragraph.
Like any other professional (or should be) she makes it look easy.
I'm sucked into the story just to see what she writes.

A thing of beauty.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail