Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Who The Sword Devours"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Thu May 24, 2007 9:23 am

Aganuzir said: The only thing that seems wrong to me is the description of the horses: as 'horrifically despoiled things." This is a bow to the movie - in the book the horses that the nazgul rode all the way to the Shire were perfectly normal.

Thanks, Aganuzir! This is exactly the type of thing I appreciate being corrected on. The questionable phrase has been removed.
NB 5.24.07
 

_________________
Last edited by NancyBrooke on Wed May 30, 2007 8:24 am
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Aganuzir

Joined: 31 May 2005
Reviews: 94
Location: 
Sat May 26, 2007 3:57 pm

Thank you, Nancy.
Pity the tale has ended. I hope you will write a sequel - I would love to hear your Boromir's voice again!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vladazhael

Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Reviews: 147
Location: Gone mad, back later
Sat Jun 02, 2007 2:03 pm

I can't say enough good things about this story (though I delayed reviewing a bit by temporarily and unrelatedly disappearing off the face of the planet Razz smiley face). It's often quite a tall order to stay within the bounds of canon and still create an engaging narrative for people who might not be as concerned with or knowledgeable about the technicalities of Middle Earth, but I don't see how anyone could manage a complaint about how this tale is balanced. And flattering or not (and for the recored I think it's very sympathetic - the best characters are the ones with doubts and flaws along with their virtues), the portrayal of Boromir here is one of the best and most richly detailed to be found, at least anywhere I've looked. (And did I mention sexy as all hell? Because YEOOWW! When I was reading the pages I printed out to read on the go, I had to fan myself with them.) Beautiful work, and well worth the anticipation! Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 678
Location: Texas
Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:33 pm

No frills, no holds barred violence of your battle scene was breathtaking. And, based on the David hints, I expected the end, but it still struck me as a bit of a surprise. It's a character piece! How did I not even realise? It's not smut; it's not a war fic. It's a piece about Boromir: who he is, how he got there, and why he does what he does. And as that, this story is truly truly excellent. Thank you for writing it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
NeumeIndil

Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Reviews: 156
Location: New York, USA
Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:38 pm

Holy... I've just spent two hours riveted. At the first, I'll admit, I had a hard time following his line of thought. Like historical and Biblical reading, though, once the words start to flow the story itself unfolds as easily as breathing. The voice is uniquely Tolkienian and yet not. It lacks the cheerful, homey quality of the beginnings of Professor's works and instead we're given the timbre and tone of the darker parts and a poetry all its own. Just... breathtaking.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Rhapsody

Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 479
Location: Maglor's Lap
Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:02 pm

Oh Nancy, I have been sadly remiss in following, reading and finishing reading this story, although I always intended to complete it (one cannot ignore rl when it knocks down your door). As I said in my first review, it took me a while to get used to Boromir's voice, but once that sunk in, you took me on quite a journey. This evening I sat down for my mefa review, perhaps I can share it in advance with you, although slightly edited (and I hope it makes it up for the long wait a bit) Wink smiley face

This story might ruffle some feathers of proud Boromir defenders, but I found your take on him confirming all what I don’t like about this character, yet you did something marvellous with this character that gave me more insight in what circumstances he lived and what formed him. This story feels complete and even though I do know that you love Boromir dearly, I surely can appreciate that you do not shy away from portraying his lesser sides with skill. Boromir holds a great passion for his city and for women, is used to get what he wants, and will use his power to get there if there are any obstacles in the way. Still, I can understand, because after all after so many years and the so-called cabin fever of being contained in this city, I can see why he claims such reprieve. The Battle of Osgiliath is immensely well described, as expected it is full of action, but in order to translate all plans and movements to paper and bring it to your reader, and you conveyed this extremely well.

So we persevered, row by row. We persevered as the dark deepened and the stars faded above us. We persevered until that hour of dark when all souls feel hollow, men shudder and women wake listening; that desolate hour which neither Dawn nor Night seems ever to own, but hangs between unclaimed. It changed hands that night in Osgiliath. We heard the deal struck, though to neither the departing Night nor the coming Dawn, but to Death. It came in a sudden absence of wind, a deepening of dark, a deafness of sound ... This scene alone gave me the shivers and the ‘meeting’ with the Witch King made it appear in the story that all time froze: what a moment!

Still not all make it until the end of the story and at the banks of the Anduin, Boromir realises their own folly:
Then again I tasted the ash of Mordor on my tongue and knew the veracity of the Nazgûl’s vision; my proud ignorance the final arrogance: we were all far beyond saving.. This combined with his stay at Tharbad, far away from his beloved city and Minas Tirith, it seems that Boromir has come to his senses, still though we know he brings his passion for his city and people to Rivendell. Everything in this story links so well together: the blindness and arrogance, understanding of what awaits them and that they just merely bought time. The brief bits with Denethor and Faramir (although a bit longer), reveals their difficult family bonds and yet love and care for another.

Masterfully done Nancy, may I ask if you ever considered to write Hirningail's story before you killed him off?
 

_________________
Last edited by Rhapsody on Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:07 pm
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Lizbit
Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: Canada
Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:23 am

NB,

I great start! Don't you find it difficult writing in the first person? I always did. I'm on to read the next chapter. Well done! Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lizbit
Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: Canada
Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:30 am

NB,

WHEW! I think I need a cold shower after that... I'm just as bad as Boromir, though my crime right now is reading this story at work. I now move on to the next chapter! Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lizbit
Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: Canada
Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:32 am

NB,

Really short chapter, but good. Poor Boromir! all alone in a desolate place! Well done, but I hope the next chapter is longer...

Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lizbit
Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: Canada
Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:40 am

NB,

That was better! Much longer, and very suductive, I must say. Well done!

Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail