Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Iadel"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Mon Nov 24, 2003 12:41 pm

Amazing how this story fits into the folk tale, ain't it? But maybe not that surprising. Tolkien, after all, borrowed heavily from faery tale forms. Which is probably why your story aligns so nicely with the professor's work. It even has a voice that is very nearly his. Very lovely work; thanks for letting me read.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 107
Location: 
Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:36 pm

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. You've turned the tables here, haven't you? Instead of a folk tale being turned into an aspect of Arda, you've turned an aspect of Arda into a folk tale. Very well done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sulriel

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Reviews: 327
Location: Imladris (or maybe Texas ...)
Thu Feb 05, 2004 8:41 am

Tinni, what fun! Very Tolkienesque how you blended the tales. You did a great job with this one.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:14 pm

Rumplestiltskin meets Feanor---hmmm. I think I'd bet on Feanor.

This is a wonderful retelling of that classic. The only flaw is the formatting--it makes the whole thing into a wall of white words. But the story itself is beautifully realized. This one is a keeper.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Thu Feb 05, 2004 1:17 pm

KhazarKhum said
> Rumplestiltskin meets Feanor---hmmm. I think I'd bet on Feanor.

Kind of makes me think Celebrity Death Match. Wink smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:07 pm

Now, how about Feanor vs Gollum? There's a set of folks for Survivor!

I really liked this story. This one worked beautifully.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Monaleoht
Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Reviews: 353
Location: I travel with the wind, as free as an eagle soaring the great firmament above Arda
Sun May 02, 2004 9:56 am

I loved it! It was really good and had a nice ending, though it was bittersweet. Well thought out! Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website