Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Unwilling"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Haleth

Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Reviews: 96
Location: The ruins of Tharbad.
Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:29 am

I have always felt badly for the Avari, doomed to see their beloved forests chopped down to make way for the cities and industries of Men, who are by nature very short sighted. This drabble captures their sadness.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 137
Location: The Grey Havens
Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:35 am

Hi Haleth!

I think the idea of Elves fading is already very sad, and agree that it would be tragic for an Avari, with such a close connection to the earth, to live to see the casual and callous destruction of the land that we Men engage in.

Thank you for your kind words!

- Barbara
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sulriel

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Reviews: 327
Location: Imladris (or maybe Texas ...)
Mon Mar 24, 2008 2:19 pm

What a delight to pop into the archive this afternoon and see three new drabbles from you.

Yes, the faithful. You always manage to touch that place deep in my heart with a pin-pointed prick of truth. I'm sure the changes they have seen are to some extent incomprehensible to them, but certainly hurtful.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Mar 25, 2008 2:22 pm

The story itself is powerful and a little bit excriciating. But what really made me wow was the author note. I think, as a structural choice, drabbling forces writers to ponder and angst over each word, but you've taken that burden to heroic extremes here. It shows. Color me impressed all around.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo