Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Passing"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:38 am

What a compelling story about a heart-breaking moment, Al! The children's loss and their pain are palpable here. You've also conveyed Theoden's thoughts and emotions very well -- and in a subtle way. He had to cope with both his sister's death and Eowyn's and Eomer's pain. Very beautifully done!
 
Author's replied on Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:52 pm
Thanks so much Binka. I'm glad you liked it.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sulriel

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Reviews: 327
Location: Imladris (or maybe Texas ...)
Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:53 pm

As both a daughter and a mother, I find this is heartfelt and heartbreaking. It's beautifully written, the love and pain comes through clearly and intensely.
 
Author's replied on Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:54 pm
I felt like it was a downplayed relationship - the family dynamic between Theoden and these kids he raised as his own. Unfortunately the damage done by Saruman and Grima probably made them grow apart during the final years.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:35 pm

The family dynamic here rings so true. And this line: "“My father did not. Yet neither loss seems less painful." Right on, Eomer. People always say that "he died peacefully" as if that makes a bloody bit of difference to those of us left behind. Sure we would prefer our loved ones to endure no suffering, but dead is dead. How in character this was for Theoden. Made me love him all the more. Very subtle work here, Miz Al.
 
Author's replied on Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:55 pm
'At least he's no longer suffering' was something that people say that annoys me. People don't want their loved ones to suffer but they don't want them to die either.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Elfique

Joined: 13 Feb 2010
Reviews: 11
Location: Londonia
Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:22 am

Ooh wow, I've never seen this before! It's really lovely and a very unique look a the family. Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website