Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Gold Like Tears"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Nov 25, 2003 5:42 pm

You know, these tales of the bead could go on forever. They're beautiful, strung like little decorations themselves: alike, but disparate, and nudging up against each other on the chain. Amazong of course, but I've come to expect that of your work. It no longer surprises me, but it does continue to impress me.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Elentari

Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 246
Location: Lost in elven dreams...
Fri Nov 28, 2003 1:06 pm

I'm officially addicted. Love everything. and the last chapter had me in tears! pretty embarassing, considering that I was at a public computer... Hon, you're awesome. the characterizations are simply flawless.
in short, bloody brilliant.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile on ICQ
LOTRlover
Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Reviews: 6
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:00 pm

Zimraphel, I love your work, and this story is no exception. You write so well. I'm torn between admiration and jealousy, with admiration having the greater part.

Lovely.
 

_________________
Last edited by LOTRlover on Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:04 pm
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
Elentari

Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 246
Location: Lost in elven dreams...
Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:59 pm

Holy cow.
that's all i can manage to say right now. Wave smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile on ICQ
LOTRlover
Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Reviews: 6
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Fri Dec 12, 2003 6:52 pm

Hmmm. Perhaps the curse on the gold has been somewhat diluted by its three castings, because the love between Arwen and Aragorn produced (or perhaps I should say influenced) far more good than ill.

It's an intriguing idea that the House of the Golden Flower, through Narello's and Ondollo's choices as much as Glorfindel's, had such an impact, not only on the lives of Eärendil's descendants but on the final defeat of Sauron.
 

_________________
Last edited by LOTRlover on Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:23 pm
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
inglor

Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Reviews: 201
Location: Not here, not there, not anywhere
Thu Jun 24, 2004 4:11 pm

What a wonderful trip through the Professor's works. All tied up in one piece of gold. Absoulutely phenominal. Your skill is humbling. Do you do this for a living? tell me where to buy it.
I see now why you are nominated in nearly every catagory in the Mithril Awards, you are that good.

Inglor
 

_________________
Last edited by inglor on Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:06 am
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Sat Nov 20, 2004 2:41 pm

[More mad praises for this story .... Here's the comment I left for Gold Like Tears in the MEFA voting.] "'It was like embracing the moon.' Gah. Nothing I can say in a review will do this story justice, so I'll just ramble on here a while until I can collect coherent thoughts. First, the physical doohickie of the bead: thank you, thank you for choosing something so unique and unassuming. Not a ring. Not a sword. Not a jewel. In fact, it's such a simple yet representative thing, Tolkien would probably approve. Like Tolkien's simple golden ring, this bit of gold grows more sinister as the story progresses, and by the end, it seemed to spell certain doom, even if it were given in love. Definitely both unsettling and touching. "
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo