Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Ghost"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 137
Location: The Grey Havens
Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:46 am

Aearwen,

What a touching and tender "ghost" story!

I was thrilled to learn that the Peredhil thrived on Eressëa, that Celeborn the Wise had invited the wild into Imladris when he left... and especially that Elrond got a glimpse of Arwen and Aragorn's distant progeny!

Although, I have to admit my heart wrenched when I read about the dam. What a stark contrast between the wise stewardship of the Age of the Elves, versus the callous land "use" of the Age of Men.

But how cool is it that Elrond had hidden toys in the statue of Celebrían, and that he was able to direct Emma and her family to them? I got a very big grin at the end!

This is a delightful story, Aearwen... thank you for sharing it with all of us for Halloween!

- Barbara
 
Author's replied on Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:36 pm
Yea, the idea that what used to be Imladris was bulldozed and now sits at the bottom of a lake behind a hydroelectric dam is disheartening, I'll have to admit. Another author has it a coal mine now - I think mine is the kinder alternative. And knowing that, of all the First-born, Elrond left behind the most when he sailed makes me want to believe that he would be granted visions of what he left behind. I gotta admit, I'm jealous of Emma... (especially in the sequel to this...!)
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
curiouswombat

Joined: 03 Jun 2008
Reviews: 258
Location: An island in the Gulf of Lhún
Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:52 pm

What a perfect Halloween story - I like to think he might have had a glimpse of family like that - and that he might, perhaps, again.
 
Author's replied on Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:33 pm
Of anyone, it was Elrond who left behind a goodly portion of himself and his progeny when he sailed. I'd like to think that Eru or the Valar would be kind enough to let him know that they have not all been lost. I'm glad you liked this.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:43 pm

Very nice, indeed. Thank you for sharing Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:32 pm
Thanks - I'm glad you enjoyed this.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail