Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "A Winter Tale."

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:57 am

Aaaaaaaargh!?

The first chapter of a new story, and such a cliff hanger?

It's great to see another story in your !verse Very Happy smiley face Will be watching this.
 
Author's replied on Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:07 am
Thank you - I know it's not like me to have a cliff-hanger at the end of a first chapter - but it is going to only be a fairly short story... :~)
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:50 pm

Hmmm, yes, I just thought that sometimes it'd be good: to be a modern girl in ME. That is, Lithôniel was lucky that Tindome wasn't quite an elf out of Lorien and could perform some modern ways of rescuing an unconscious person. Phew! That was close! And I'm also glad for Orophin who discovered the duet of their spirits Smile smiley face He very much deserved to be a happy elf, too Smile smiley face

Good stuff, full of action and emotion-packed, which I like to bits Very Happy smiley face Thanks!
 
Author's replied on Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:39 pm
Thank you - I was tempted for a minute or two to kill her off, but that would have been very cruel to poor Orophin and I thought he really deserved some happiness too!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:25 pm

snowellyn

*giggles*

What a wonderful meeting! I have a big, happy smile on my face. And I like the "younger side" of Tindome expressed more significantly. Time may have passed; she had a husband and a son, but she still wanted to play in the snow Smile smiley face Even though she and Álith didn't mention how far they had grown apart as far as their age was concerned, Tindome seemed way younger. Which of course brought a bit of sadness to the chapter.

Lovely chapter! Thank you Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:25 pm
Thank you - I have always planned for them to meet again now and I wanted Álith to still be Álith, but clearly older. Of course Tindómë is older too - but is already ageing as an elf - she is so young that all the other elves (apart from the few, new, elflings) are older than her, and even the elves who are two or three thousand years or more in age tend to have that almost childish joy in things when amongst their own. She will get to play in the snow eventually!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:28 am

Awww, this was a very emotional chapter. I especially loved the talk between Legolas and Tindome. I think that it was really tough for a human to realize what exactly an elf must feel and think about leaving his mortal friends behind. Tindome summed it up very accurately when she compared herself to a rock in the stream.

Loved the last bit as well Smile smiley face

Great story! Thank you Very Happy smiley face
 
Author's replied on Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:37 am
Thank you, thank you. I'm so glad that the 'rock in a stream' analogy works for you too.

That last little scene just sort of wrote itself.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:10 pm

I just smiled warmly. This was a sweet, touching, and sexy chapter altogether. Lovely a way to say a final good bye to one's former homeland, I suppose.

Very nice. Thank you Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:48 pm
Thank you - sweet and sexy with a bitter-sweet edge was what I was aiming at. I'm glad it works.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:26 am

This was a thoughtful chapter. And lovely too, despite the spiders.

Funny thing is that I'm not afarid of spiders and don't mind them (though sure I drive them away from the house if I spot any) as long as their size stays within the boundaries of reason, LOL.

Your characters are wonderfully drawn, I again am in awe of that, excellently developed. And of course as always, I appreciate the humor.

Greatly done! Thank you Very Happy smiley face
 
Author's replied on Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:21 am
Thank you so much - I'm not that bothered by normal spiders either - but I rather think one big enough to cover a bed might give me nightmares!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:35 am

What woman wouldn't be convinced after such a try performed by her husband? Wink smiley face Regardless of the main cause of her concern, I suppose.

Loved the greeting scene and the terms of endearment the two brothers use. And I could so see the king as he stood waiting for his son's arrival.

Good stuff! Very Happy smiley face Thank you.
 
Author's replied on Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:29 pm
Thank you - I can thank Hiswelókë's Sindarin dictionary for the use of nethig, honeg and atheg as names that elflings would use within a family.

I'm so glad that you could see King Thranduil in that scene.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:25 pm

It is kind of strange to think that Tindome might not be accepted by someone in Thranduil's kingdom. She belongs to Middle Earth just like any other elf, and I once again had to remind myself that she came from another world. And it's good to know that the Kind does like her Smile smiley face Everyone sighed with relief, didn't they? Wink smiley face

Loved Thranduil's remark about Legolas'... back, by the way.

Thank you for updating. It was good to see a new chapter Smile smiley face Made my day.
 
Author's replied on Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:22 pm
Glad to have made your day! It occurred to me as I started this story that, having been forcibly reminded the year before that she IS different, she might be worried about meeting Legolas' father; not only because of the kinship claim between them, but also because Thranduil has a reputation as a strong king. He had to be, really, as his was the Elven realm most directly affected by Sauron for many centuries and yet had no great magical protection.

I'm glad you like the remark about Legolas' back - it made me laugh when it came to me.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:14 am

I guess there's nothing left to make Tindome think that she doesn't belong to ME and the family. Very Happy smiley face Very, very nice! Thank you for updating.
 
Author's replied on Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:02 am
The original idea was for a 2 or 3 chapter fluffy piece - so doing the happy and belonging is good fun! There is one more chapter, possibly two, to go - so at least I'll finish my mid-winter tale before midsummer....
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:12 pm

Glorfindel gets a mention! Awwwwww... Very Happy smiley face *melting*

Certainly, the elves know what to do to make a party pure fun for everyone (what a rhyme, hehe). Loved this chapter to bits. Especially Rumil's rambling on about painting. Smile smiley face

Thank you for updating!
 
Author's replied on Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:48 pm
I'm glad you enjoyed the partying! And also Rumil's ramblings...
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail