Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "New Roots"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Radbooks

Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Reviews: 67
Location: Washington State
Sat Jul 24, 2010 6:05 pm

Nicely done! I really enjoyed it!
 
Author's replied on Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:34 am
Thanks! Glad you liked it!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 137
Location: The Grey Havens
Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:09 am

Ah, I like this, Aearwen! Celeborn deserves to be among trees that refresh his spirit, and I'm glad Thranduil found him and is eager to offer his friendship and enjoy his company.
Though I wish you hadn't written such a harsh fate for Elladan and Elrohir.... my heart broke for both of them! Is Elrohir's mortal death what Gandalf and he spoke of in Elladaniel? I was afraid it was something like that....
Anyway, I always enjoy your stories very much.... (That's a dignified variant of "plz rite more!)
Well done! Thank you!
- Barbara
 
Author's replied on Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:38 am
This isn't a part of my IDD!verse - of which "Light Fingers" and "Elladaniel" are a part of, as is "In The House of Elrond" - so no, Elrohir's fate isn't what Gandalf was talking about at the end of "Elladaniel". You're close, but still off a bit. This is a one-shot, exploring what I would like to think of as two of the more stubborn Elves continuing to refuse to heed the Valar's call to sail, setting forth a possibility that they're both still around somewhere - in plain sight, but their true natures nicely camouflaged. Glad you liked this one. Thanks for writing.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:47 pm

This is a lovely, warm look at the two Sindarin giants of Tolkien's universe "in retirement". Greatly done! Thank you for sharing.
 
Author's replied on Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:35 am
Tolkien left so very much up to the imagination after the end of the Ring War. These were people who had lived for Ages - what happened to them then? I'd like to think a few hung around... Thanks - glad you liked it.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail