Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Forsaken Lands"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1116
Location: Wherever I may roam
Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:29 am

Yeah, definitely, I can imagine (hear) him thinking this. Very nicely done! Smile smiley face Thank you.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 379
Location: 
Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:02 pm

Well, I learned something I didn't know about horses, but more importantly, something about LoTR that I never thought of. In your comments you mention that Aragorn's saving of the world will rob the elves of their place in Middle Earth. Really struck a chord. Your drabble is very thoughtful and beautifully written, as well.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 137
Location: The Grey Havens
Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:13 pm

Hi NeumeIndil,

Really enjoyed this drabble! You say much about Strider's both shrewdness and dignity with "This is not such a one.".

And I think his observation that suspicion is not natural to the Rohirrim is spot-on with what Tolkien wrote about them.

And the analogy with the canker on the hoof is particularly apt.

You really show how so much can be said in so few well-chosen words.... Nicely done!

- Barbara
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:46 pm

Nicely done. Seems to me that TT is just chock full of moments ripe for this challenge, and you picked a good'un. I liked your Aragorn's perspective on Rohan, it's something I'd forgotten - that he had history there. A very full piece without being chunky or awkward but flowing nicely.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail