Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "The Valinor Trail"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 137
Location: The Grey Havens
Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:45 am

Hi Curiouswombat,

So pleased to see a new Returnverse story... and can't wait to see where you take it! Haldir returning is one thing, but Spike??? That should be interesting!

Looking forward to more!

- Barbara
 
Author's replied on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:30 am
Thank you. It is really good to know that you are reading and enjoying this. I'll post the next chapter later today. As for Spike... wait and see!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:54 pm

Rumil employs nice methods for distraction. Can't imagine what it would be like to step in front of the Valar. The idea that one is so powerful that they could sift through another's thought is quite disconcerting. Still there is no answer yet - and Haldir must agree to accompany her. Look forward to more.
 
Author's replied on Fri Mar 01, 2013 7:11 pm
The very nicest sort of distractions... And now it all rests on Haldir...

Thank you so much for letting me know that you are reading here, I much appreciate it.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:12 pm

Oh, you made my day with a new chapter! This one brings a new understanding between Haldir and TindůmŽ. I was waiting for this to come to a verbal confrontation. ďGet off the horse!Ē TindůmŽ handles it very well with the right mix of strength and compassion - as she relays how Rumil and Orophin mourned and dealt with Haldir's death. How long will they be searching, I wonder?
 
Author's replied on Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:42 pm
Thank you - I'm really glad that you think there is the right mix of strength and compassion in their encounter.

But they might be wandering for a while yet...
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Sun May 19, 2013 7:33 am

I like how you are slowly developing their relationship. Haldir is only just realizing that TindůmŽ likes to ask questions? Wow, TindůmŽ and Haldor meet reborn residemts of Doriath! I wonder if others know that so many from Doriath have been reborn and are living quietly among the trees. I think this journey is important for Haldir in many ways as he comes to terms with who he is and will be in these new lands. There encounters with the different villages and towns does make this feel like a journey. I look forward to the next chapter.
 
Author's replied on Sun May 19, 2013 9:46 am
Haldir's original reaction to TindůmŽ was very much 'if it wasn't for her things would not have hanged so much' so he really hasn't taken much notice of her 'bright enquiring mind' - until now!

Doubtless King OlwŽ knows his brother and sister-in-law have a city down the coast where they live quietly - and this Sindar settlement will not be unknown to everyone - but not seen as important enough to mention, to most people.

I' so glad you are really getting the feeling that this is a journey - the journey is as much the story as what happened before they set off, or what happens when they get there.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:25 pm

You set a nice pace for the development of a friendship between Haldir and TindůmŽ. I think it is helpful for both of them and definitely gives Haldir a new perspective. I wonder if the earthquake marks their passing to earth? Guess I'll have to wait and see in the next chapter!
 
Author's replied on Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:23 am
Thank you - yes this journey is helping both learn more of the other. Hopefully the reason for the earthquake will become clear in another chapter or two!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:01 am

You've interjected a bit of mystery in this chapter. Why the earthquake? How come there is no big game in the forest? Surely, it can't be where Lord Orome hunts? Why so many dead ends? For some reason the idea 'flipping a coin' to make a decision being of of true Galadhrim fashion struck me as funny. What struck Tindome at the end, I wonder?

I look forward to more!
 
Author's replied on Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:43 am
Eventually things will start to come together - honestly. My Galadhrim are known to wager on all sorts - so flipping a coin seemed quite in keeping, I thought! What struck her in the end was really a big chunk of stone - but what the effect if it is will only be clear in the next chapter Smile smiley face
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Wed Jul 31, 2013 5:36 pm

Wow - love how you highlight their 'otherness' as elves by their dancing to the forest's heartbeat and the chorus of songs. Lord OromŽ's arrival was excellent - the sounding of the horns followed by being overwhelmed by the hunters. The mind-to-mind conversation between Tulkas and Tindůme was very enlightening and amusing - especially Tindůme projects or equates Tulkas' comments with elves she knows. Nessa understands Tindome well too, it seems. Great chapter!
 
Author's replied on Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:23 am
I'm really pleased that you liked the 'otherness' of them dancing to the forest's heartbeat and the chorus of songs, and the arrival of the Hunt. That scene with Tulkas has been written in one of my notebooks waiting for me to get to the right place for quite a while - but the scene with Nessa just came to me as I wrote, and more or less wrote itself!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:40 pm

You do a great job gently developing the friendship between Haldir and Tindome. It's nice that he is finally thinking of her as her own person as TindůmŽ rather than as ĎRumilís wifeí! Haldir's reaction to her crying was hilarious. Poor warrior dude - can face all sorts of danger but a crying woman! All sorts of foreshadowing in this one as too who these new lands will be for. And finally..... the Halls of Mandos!
 
Author's replied on Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:31 am
Thank you. I'm not sure they will ever be each other's best friend - but at least they have a mutual respect now - and a growing relationship.

** Haldir's reaction to her crying was hilarious.** - Thank you! I'm so glad you liked that - I found it fun to wrote.

And Oh Yes! Finally - Mandos Halls....
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:30 pm

Oh, I do like your Namo - with his sense of humor and willing to consider Tindome's request. Even the Valar have been fooled before by kindness or a ruse of repentence - or as Namo says " even the most evil, the most destructive, of beings can appear to be all kindliness, a giver of gifts, so that they are able to deceive those who are wiser than you. But eventually their true colours will out." Poor Spike has no idea who is coming to judge him!
 
Author's replied on Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:52 pm
I'm really glad that you like Lord NŠmo - I wanted him to come over as fair, and willing to consider anything he hasn't come across before rather than simply the Vala who likes to say No! But he will certainly not be swayed by TindůmŽ's pleas if he does not think Spike ready to fit into Valinor!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Claribel
Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Reviews: 7
Location: 
Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:58 pm

I have no idea why I haven't reviewed before, but just to say that I love this story and all the preceding tales. Oddly, I never really watched Buffy, although I knew who most of the characters were, but it doesn't appear to have reduced my enjoyment at all! Kudos to you for writing such an excellent story and such varied and interesting characters.
 
Author's replied on Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:03 pm
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, I really do appreciate it, and I am so pleased that you are enjoying the stories.

I hoped they would work with only a vague knowledge of Buffy, and it is good to know that they do.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail