Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Another Mother's Son"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 107
Location: 
Sun Dec 14, 2003 9:35 pm

This is a very touching story and I enjoyed it. Well done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Elentari

Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 246
Location: Lost in elven dreams...
Wed Dec 17, 2003 3:59 pm

A very succesful view of what happened in Laketown, specially AFTER the whole dragon thing. Indeed we found very little evidence on their fates, except for a few lines saying many died.
hell, that can be said of a lot of things.
The part where she feels jealous of the boys'' future wife/lover is also very pertinent. I guess all moms feel it, right? lol.
Very... human. In the best sense of the word.
BRAVO!!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile on ICQ
Thevina
Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Reviews: 31
Location: U.S.
Mon Dec 22, 2003 4:50 pm

Elentari said
> A very succesful view of what happened in Laketown, specially AFTER the whole dragon thing. Indeed we found very little evidence on their fates, except for a few lines saying many died.
> hell, that can be said of a lot of things.
> The part where she feels jealous of the boys'' future wife/lover is also very pertinent. I guess all moms feel it, right? lol.
> Very... human. In the best sense of the word.
> BRAVO!!

Thank you so much!! Yes, the poor people of Laketown vanish until they end up fighting again, mentioned only peripherally in LotR.

Yes, the jealousy about one's son growing up is what sparked the story. So glad that you enjoyed it. Razz smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
ladyrheena
Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Reviews: 44
Location: Humming in the corner.
Thu May 27, 2004 5:12 am

That was lovely! Well done, good work!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
NeumeIndil

Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Reviews: 156
Location: New York, USA
Sun Oct 16, 2005 3:12 am

Dang it, almost got through the whole thing without tearing up. Then I read your dedication and that did it! It's usually a good thing, though, when I cry at a story, be it read or spoken. Wonderfully simple yet touching. Thank you for this piece.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Haleth

Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Reviews: 96
Location: The ruins of Tharbad.
Sun Oct 16, 2005 1:35 pm

Excellently done.

The refugees' POV is almost always forgotten in epic fantasy. It's good to see a story describing both their plight and their opinion of the heroes of the story.

Well done!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo