Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Loving Gin"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Sun May 04, 2014 2:53 am

I don't know how I missed this story last time I updated mine, but I just couldn't stop reading once I started. I really enjoy reading about Thorin as a child, it makes me smile and brings a depth to his character that we haven't seen yet. You weave all the other Dwarves into the story effortlessly and smoothly, and I can't wait to read more! Also, great idea for the chapter titles as well.
 
Author's replied on Wed May 07, 2014 5:58 am
Thank you so much for reading! I'm glad you're enjoying it. I like exploring the 'unknown' and we really don't now that much about Thror and his line. I mean, we have a background and a family tree, but that's about it. It leaves a lot of room for an over-imaginative person to play in!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
Amarie31
Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Reviews: 3
Location: 
Mon May 05, 2014 9:39 am

I have always enjoyed reading your stories, this one included. I apologize for not being a big reviewer, but I'm going to try and make and effort to review more. Young Thorin this so cute. This last chapter made me giggle. You're writing makes we feel like I'm on the story. I am looking forward to the next chapter!!
 
Author's replied on Wed May 07, 2014 5:58 am
Thank you so much for reading! I'm glad you're enjoying it.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Wed May 07, 2014 12:49 pm

Ahhh ... the sickness of the mind. It's sad to see the beginning of the end for the Dwarf king, but I'm definitely glad Thorin managed to drag his grandfather out of the vault.
Lovely chapter, can't wait to read more Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Thu May 08, 2014 11:25 am
Thank you for reading. I think Thror sooooo needed that last fishing trip...
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Fri May 16, 2014 2:40 am

He definitely did! And this chapter made me chuckle a whole lot. The woes of teenagers, especially royal ones! Thorin can be so slow sometimes. I can't wait to read how this turned out.
 
Author's replied on Fri May 16, 2014 6:44 pm
Hehe. Most definitely. Thrain commented earlier that Dwarves are teenagers for like.... 25 or 30 years. I can't imagine! Thank you for reading! (Sorry I got this up late. I thought I had posted it Wednesday and realized yesterday, I hadn't!)
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
Amarie31
Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Reviews: 3
Location: 
Fri May 16, 2014 8:50 am

Another wonderful chapter. I always love your stories, and this one is no different. The dynamics of Thorin and Gin relationship is interesting. I think it's cute that Thorin likes her, but he's going to have to step it up. I look forward to the next chapter with much anticipation. Keep up the excellent work!!
 
Author's replied on Fri May 16, 2014 6:45 pm
Nope, he's learning that he can't rest on his laurels of being a Prince.... Thank you for reading.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Tue May 27, 2014 1:46 am

I chuckled a lot through this one; Dwalin keeps making me laugh! I'm pretty sure his brother's going to go grey soon. I love Thorin and Gin's dynamic, and the way you portray the trials of a teenager so well - combined with the obvious differences that the Dwarves have, such as that almost thirty years span! Poor parents.
Can't wait to read more.
 
Author's replied on Wed May 28, 2014 8:41 am
Thank you for reading. These last few chapters were a lot of fun to write. I enjoyed researching the Dwarves and creating 'life under the mountain' for the younger ones was really enjoyable.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Thu May 29, 2014 2:07 am

Aww, so sweet! And I laughed a couple of times. Of course they need to impress Thranduil, otherwise, there'll be no hearing the end of it. At all! I loved the marriage ceremony and the customs you described. Also, the pandemonium from the arguing families was probably something to see! Can't wait to read more Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:29 pm
Thank you for reading. I remember well the insanity of planning my wedding. Next time, I"ll just elope!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:06 am

Aghhhh my heart just broke for them Sad smiley face Poor Thorin, poor Gin. That's one horror no one wants to live through ...
I noticed some missing articles in front of a handful of the nouns, but otherwise this was yet another great chapter, and I'm looking forward to read more Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:08 pm
Thank you for reading. There probably were a few things missing - I did the final cleaning of this while sitting in ICU with my dad and mom was down being x-rayed. (wretched car accident, my parents were t-boned.) I'll probably go back through this at some point...
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
Malinwen
Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Reviews: 168
Location: OndolindŽ
Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:30 am

I'm really enjoying the different aspects of Gin and Thorin's relationship as they go through the hardships of being homeless and then rebuilding in the Blue Mountains. Poor Gin though ... so many miscarriages. I enjoyed the tidbit about Thorin forging GķthwinŽ for the Rohirrim, it was a very nice touch! Can't wait to read more.
 
Author's replied on Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:43 pm
Thank you for reading.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile