Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Not For Pride Alone"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Isabeau

Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Reviews: 1
Location: 
Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:01 am

This is very nice, Zimraphel. I look forward to where you are taking it. Good depiction of the friction between the Elves and Men, the resentment of the fading race and the arrogance of the rising one. And I love your Imrazor! Reminds me of someone I know.......... Wink smiley face Glorfindel, too, is nicely depicted.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Elentari

Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 246
Location: Lost in elven dreams...
Sun Jan 04, 2004 6:06 pm

1- Loved the elves vs. men tension. It's great that you could depict how the king was an ass and also that great captain (who made me wish to go there and cuddle him... oh dear. I should just shut my mouth.)
2- Loved the HOBBITS!!!! Wooohoooo!!!! And Glorfindel blushing was absolutely PRICELESS!!
3- Loved the letters. It was a little thing, but so intimate and cute (for lack of a better word) and the scene when glorfindel returns and Lindir is awkward is superb. really. 'tis wonderful that this little elf can stand the ''fury'' of the great elf lord even when he is a tad afraid. the right amount of familiarity, fright and courage. that was so... 'family business'. It was really a thing we live every other day with our parents/children. Fantastic.
4- Loved the revelation, how Glorfindel was reluctant but did it only for the sake of the greater good. Elladan/Elrohir sulking was also priceless (and Glorfindel being pampered... great. just great). I particularly enjoyed the lecture he gave on his gwedth.
a for-the-love-of-pete write-a-sequence-soon.
in short, LOVED IT.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile on ICQ
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 325
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Sat Apr 17, 2004 1:56 pm

My goodness... You included the hobbits into the battle~! What delight~!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Beruthiel

Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: Sandwiched between the Twinkies
Thu May 27, 2004 5:42 am

I very much enjoyed this. Well within canon, good characterizations, really a delight to read.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Artanis
Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Reviews: 19
Location: USA
Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:11 am

You had from the first two lines. Your characterization of Eanur was PERFECT! It was exactly how I had alwaqys pictured him. And Glorfindel? He's one of my favorite characters, and all your stories portray him woderfully. i can't decide which part I like more: Glor scaring of the Witch King, or Glor flying his banner.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
Texasgirl

Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Reviews: 116
Location: Texas (no shit, sherlock)
Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:45 pm

you portray the characters so well - it realy was a pleasure to read this piece. when glorfindel shouted his battle cry - i'll even admit that i got goosebumps. Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail