Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Flame of Gondolin, book 5: Into the Storm"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Tibb
Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Reviews: 13
Location: 
Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:33 am

Thanks much. Been waiting for this.
 
Author's replied on Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:36 am
I'm so glad you're still reading, hope you'll enjoy this next installment!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:54 pm

Part five! Excellent - I've been waiting for a continuation of Anárië and Glorfindel's adventures. An interesting glimpse of the aftermath of the battle with Dol Guldor thrown down, but with the more serious observation that it was not just some darkness there - but perhaps Sauron himself moving. You do portray well the weariness that comes from the realization that one is fighting the same fight again. "Elrond should have tossed Isildur into Crack of Doom when he’d had the chance!" Anárië certainly is exhausted to be second guessing events from ages ago. Sad, that Elladan and Elrohir appear not to have helped with this particular fight. Will we see more details about them later? Good start to the next installment!
 
Author's replied on Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:37 am
Yes, our Elves are all like 'we don't want to anymore' haha, but I feel it's a realistic thing, they're leaving Middle Earth and are just tired. We will see more of the twins later on!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:01 pm

I honestly didn't know what to think about the battle between Lachuí and Útheas in the last chapter - then here you go and totally surprise me. Wow, I did not see that coming. You weave the disparate threads together into a compelling tale. Then of course you have Anná pushing Elrond to tell Estel his heritage, but you have her making a good-bye cloak for the boy as they are wishing him well with the Dunedain. Pretty nice allusion to Arwen & Estel's meeting without actually showing it. Great chapter!
 
Author's replied on Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:11 pm
Thanks! Yeah I need to keep the characters all around somehow, so domestic disputes sometimes help haha.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tibb
Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Reviews: 13
Location: 
Mon Mar 07, 2016 8:26 am

Oh bugger!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tibb
Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Reviews: 13
Location: 
Mon Mar 07, 2016 8:31 am

Isn't like we didn't see that coming. I liked the little interlude with Arwen, though.
 
Author's replied on Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:46 pm
It's gearing up. Thanks for reading!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:46 pm

Wow, I like your take on things - and how we see just pieces of Arwen and Aragorn but move ahead through Anarie's perspective. So, she knows that they will bind, but does not want to inform Elrond. …And she sees more of Eärendil in Elrond - but certainly, there is no indication of what the Mariner might have thought about that situation. I wonder how that will play out. I've always thought Elrond must have loved them both, and perhaps foresaw disaster should they wed too soon. I'm looking forward to your take on it - via Anarie's and Glorfindel's perspectives perhaps?
 
Author's replied on Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:44 am
There will certainly be a take on it, and hopefully it will make sense. Thank you for the review!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tibb
Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Reviews: 13
Location: 
Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:27 pm

So far I've really liked where this is going. Anarie has surely changed from the young girl at the beginning of book 1 (perhaps a bit of PTSD?). I'll admit I've not read The Golden Queen, but am planning on doing so eventually.
 
Author's replied on Fri Apr 08, 2016 1:29 am
Thank you for your kind review Smile smiley face and yes, if Elves would have a term for it, it would have certainly been PTSD, or a form of it. I hope you enjoy this until the end!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tibb
Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Reviews: 13
Location: 
Mon May 09, 2016 6:58 pm

Very, very nice chapter.
 
Author's replied on Sun May 15, 2016 2:34 am
Thank you!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Mon May 16, 2016 8:06 pm

Wow, I would have never thought this point of view would be so intriguing. But Anárië, Elladan and Elrohir helping to muster the Dunedain - is story in itself and one that is not flushed out near enough in the larger tale. Great chapter!
 
Author's replied on Fri May 20, 2016 1:43 am
Thank you! I thought that if the twins rode with the Dúnedain to Aragorn they probably had a thing to say about mustering them as well.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
athena568
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Reviews: 110
Location: 
Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:23 pm

What a wonderful and fitting ending - with a new beginning to Anarie and Glorfindel's story. The descriptions of the gathering - especially of Thranduil and the Wodland elves was amazing. Thanks for continuing the story to such a wonderful conclusion.
 
Author's replied on Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:51 am
Thank you so much for coming back and reading! I do apologise for not finishing this sooner, I have no idea what happened. Openscrolls just wouldn't let me log in! One more book to go, when I get to it Smile smiley face happy holidays!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail