Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Requiem"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Gaslight
Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 17
Location: 
Sat Jun 07, 2003 12:54 am

I thought I'd review here as well. Smile smiley face I just read it again and really like the fluffy yet uncloying balance you captured with Boromir and Faramir's interaction. The way Denethor was portrayed in the snapshot we saw of him was such a breath of fresh air in this fandom! He and Thranduil have been villainized, unfortunately. And I still can't get over the Bach translator being my old Classics prof! LOL Good work, N. I love your fics.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
BellemaineChercoeur

Joined: 28 May 2003
Reviews: 106
Location: 
Sat Jun 07, 2003 12:54 am

Lovely piece. I really enjoyed your setting, and you had alovely emotional dynamic between Faramir and Boromir. The first chapter was also very well written; I really liked your choice of the restrained emotion of Denethorn and the emotion of the requiem. Well Done!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Jul 08, 2003 10:48 pm

I have to admit that, as usual, I skipped the lyrics. Surprised smiley faceops: But all the prose in between, and especially chapter 3, was endearing and melancholy. Especially your touch at the end: Boromir declaring that he will be true to himself. Fabulous piece of characterization, especially since he was talking to Faramir, who always seemed to struggle with who he was. Very very nice.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
GypsieRose

Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Reviews: 45
Location: Illinois, USA
Thu Aug 21, 2003 1:27 pm

I enjoyed this piece very much! About the only thing that struck me was that it seemed like chapters 2 and 3 could have been a single one (almost typed "songle"--now there's a Freudian slip of the fingers! Razz smiley face ). But that's a tiny thing. I liked the relatively sympathetic view of Denethor, and the characterization of the brothers in chapter 3. Thanks for a good read!

--Rose
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Tue Jan 20, 2004 3:49 am

The brothers are very well done in 3. Now --does Boromir win his fight? Laughing smiley face

khazar
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
shadowslayer
Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Reviews: 24
Location: 
Sat Nov 26, 2005 12:26 am

This is the best boromir faramir stor i have rever read next to the lotr books Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 504
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:53 am

Very nice. I admit that I, also, skipped the lyrics. But, chapter three was priceless. Thank you for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo