Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Finrod's Oath"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:17 pm

This is poingnant, sweeping. I enjoyed it from beginning to end. Finrod deserved a place in the sun, not a death in the pit. And thanks for mentioning Andreth... she is one of my favorite Tolkien characters, and you imply her story beautifully. Wonderful, and thank you for writing it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Thu Jun 12, 2003 6:18 pm

Oh... and I forgot to mention: congratulations on the Mithril finalist slot for *this story*. I was so excited to see a story I actually recognized (and loved) up there.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
EveningNightshade
Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Reviews: 22
Location: Scotland
Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:40 pm

I love Finrod's Oath. It's a beautiful, vivid story. I love your characterisations. Well done! Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Monaleoht
Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Reviews: 353
Location: I travel with the wind, as free as an eagle soaring the great firmament above Arda
Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:02 am

Wow! Amazing and vivid, your descriptions are amazing! Well done, you show such an enchanting and original side of the story that we all guessed at... Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
SilverMoonLady

Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Reviews: 251
Location: Breaking in a Brandybuck... *wicked grin*
Mon Jun 07, 2004 8:50 am

Color me impressed! I loved this! Very well-written, very evocative! Enough pictures and insights like this and I'll just have to reread the SilmSmile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
KhazarKhum

Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Reviews: 135
Location: Quartz Hill, CA--USA
Mon Jun 07, 2004 5:54 pm

An excellent Silm story, well-told. Both powerful & poignant, it brings the events to life.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Thuriniel
Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Reviews: 94
Location: Watching the purple sky fly over me ...
Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:24 pm

I was riveted to this fic since the beginning, but it was the very last of it that really made me react: "The wolf bared his teeth. I bared mine. And so it begins ... "

It is such a raw image presented in very few words. There is no blood, no guts ... but I think that the fact that you leave Finrod's fate to the imagination of the reader makes the final impression even stronger. I don't think I will ever be able to think or read about Fingon and not remember these words and his bravery at his final moments.

All his previous thoughts and memories help us understand why he will fight until the very end, even though there is no hope for him to survive. The thought of a defenseless elf awaiting death and willing to die so that he can redeem himself for the bad choices he's made in his life is just heartbreaking.

Amazing work ... short, but very powerful.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Lossefalme01

Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Reviews: 3
Location: Missouri, USA
Thu Sep 09, 2004 8:24 pm

Wow. This is truly beautiful! I really like the first person viewpoint, I think it makes everything alot more powerful! And also, I really enjoyed seeing the inside of Finrod. His and his brothers' stories have always intrigued me and I always thought it would be fun to go and write something more about them, so I was very glad to see this fic! And you certainly did not disappoint! You brought such a realism to his character, his thoughts were so heart wrenching and touching, I could really feel for him!

Wow.... just excellent! I can't even really find the words! GREAT job! Very Happy smiley face Yes... REALLY good job!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Sat Nov 20, 2004 2:25 pm

[Yes, more mad praises from me. Get used to it. Wink smiley face Here's the comment I left for this story in the MEFA voting. Congrats. ] "The beauty of this piece is its subtlety, for there is more than one oath of Finrod: his oath to Feanor, of course, but also his promises to Amarie, Barahir, Andreth. This story is his contemplation of all those oaths, of the devotion he gave so generously and of how that giving spirit has brought him to this end, full of regret. It seems that now, at last, he realizes that seeking happiness is not entirely selfish: "Despite my best efforts all my good intentions have come for naught and every decision I ever made appears to have been wrong... In my long and weary life, I could not save any of those I wished." What a tragedy that this realization should come too late. However, noble to the end, Finrod does not accept his failures resignedly. He fights. The ending of this fic is so appropriate. This may be the most solidly put together interior monologue piece in ficdom."
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo