Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Promises"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
BellemaineChercoeur

Joined: 28 May 2003
Reviews: 106
Location: 
Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:22 am

Beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous uyse of imagery, wonderfully paced and with a deft touch regarding characterisation. Your experiment has definitely worked, not least because it did not seem that you had "packed" information in. Instead, it felt like the story was gently unfurling, its own lyric weight carrying it forward. Knowing the end was going to be sad added to a lovely sense of melancholy and grief over the last third of the story. Simply gorgeous. Although the happy ending part of me is screaming Promises Shpromises, build a ship my girl! Fabulous piece.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Moralanqua

Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 167
Location: Scotland
Sun Jan 18, 2004 4:37 am

*sob*

So sad! Lovely work, well written (as was expected) and very 'elven' in feeling and atmosphere. Great emotive piece. Crying or Very sad smiley face

Am delighted you are writing again! Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Maram68

Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 114
Location: West from East
Sun Jan 18, 2004 6:23 am

When I read it first, it felt like a fragile, precious piece of glass: you handle the whole relationship with care and such expertisse that we read a whole romance in a single page.
It is lovely, tragic and a gem. I adore this (I insist on calling it poem).

Thanks, Vivchen
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
miriel361
Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Reviews: 103
Location: 
Sun Jan 18, 2004 6:27 am

That was so sad, so poetic and beautifully written. No wonder Legolas always looks sad.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thuriniel
Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Reviews: 94
Location: Watching the purple sky fly over me ...
Sun Jan 18, 2004 12:09 pm

Simple, elegant and so beautiful. I always thought that Legolas' parting to the West with Gimli was the saddest part of the trilogy ... even if it was nothing but a quick mention in the Appentices. It seemed like such a lonely, heartwrenching moment when the last two of the Fellowship leave Middle-Earth ... and now I have this beautiful story to add to the sadness. I wish there would have been a happy ending, but I think that the way you have presented this love story fits Legolas' years in Ithilien and his going West with Gimli so well. Wonderful job!

Maria

PS: Now I'm going to go and sob for a while.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 107
Location: 
Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:35 am

Yet another excellent contribution from you, Viv. Most definitely not silly. Very poignant and haunting, and I've a feeling this one will stick with me for a while. I am, as always, highly impressed by your writing skills.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Monty

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Reviews: 1
Location: 
Mon Feb 02, 2004 5:14 am

That was amazing!! The first Legolas/OC that I've actually liked!! Very sad, kinda depressing, but absolutley beatiful!!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sindohte

Joined: 14 May 2003
Reviews: 157
Location: Rubbing up against an Elf
Tue Feb 03, 2004 7:09 pm

You managed to convey such love and longing between Legolas and his beloved in so few words. Simply a work of genius.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Anna

Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Reviews: 108
Location: Sweden
Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:09 pm

So utterly beautiful. Slow, melancholic, brilliant and simply beautiful.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Monaleoht
Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Reviews: 353
Location: I travel with the wind, as free as an eagle soaring the great firmament above Arda
Thu May 06, 2004 1:11 pm

*sobs* So touching and wonderful. The words seemed to flow across the page... *sighs*. Full of poetry, the feelings and emotions in this stroy are conveyed with a force almost jumping out of the paper and into reality... *crys* Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website