Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "The Horn-Cry of Buckland"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
BellemaineChercoeur

Joined: 28 May 2003
Reviews: 106
Location: 
Sat Jun 07, 2003 12:54 am

Interesting start, and a lovely dynamic between Merry and Pippin. Looking forward to more!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:27 pm

Lovely story! You deal wonderfully with Merry & Pip's "Post Traumatic Stress." Too many people just imagine the younger hobbits lived happily ever after. You show that they don't but will someday. I think you had their characterizations spot on!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 507
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:21 pm

Very touching. I have read more hobbit stories lately. That is so unlike me. But this was so good. I loved the interaction. And as Nancy said, it shows the scars and whatifs that surely plagued those who did not said West. A wonderful jaunt down a path seldom taken. Thank you, very much.

Drunk smiley face Lurk smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
SamwiseTheStrong
Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Reviews: 52
Location: Oregon, USA
Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:30 pm

To be able to share your pain with someone is a wonderful thing, if that's what you want. Pippin and Merry, having gone through the events of the War together are able to help and relate to each other. This was a great example of this connection, and even better because it isn't slash, or even suggestive of slash. Thhank you for the good reading.
SamwiseTS
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Lelin
Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Reviews: 29
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Wed Oct 20, 2004 4:22 am

Lovely story! Well told, both sweet and sad, capturing (to my delight) some of the Merry and Pippin characteristics that were a bit lost in the movies.

I agree with the others' comments on how well you presented the way the two hobbits deal with having been through the war.

BTW, I find it curious that so many writers make Merry childless. Is this because and Estella's children are not listed in the family tree in Appendix C?
But in The Tale of Years (Appendix B) in the notation for S.R. 1484, we read that Meriadoc "took counsel with his friend, the Thain, and soon
after they handed over their goods and offices to their sons and rode away over Sarn Ford..."

Anyway, please keep writing!

Lelin
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail