Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Night In Hollin"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
SilverMoonLady

Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Reviews: 251
Location: Breaking in a Brandybuck... *wicked grin*
Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:33 am

Oh, lovely!! So this is what was brewing... Well, I think it's just grand! *grin* Very nicely written and a really neat image, despite it's improbabilitySmile smiley face I like how different and appropriate each dance was to each culture, and your way of pairing them off worked well around the "hey, it's just guys here" issue. All in all, nicely done!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
gariotin
Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Reviews: 27
Location: 
Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:37 pm

Wonderful! Such an interesting glimpse into the different cultures that made up this unlikely fellowship. Loved the little bit about Aragorn being taught the dance steps by Boromir's mother.
A great moment about what might have happened during the quiet moments of this journey.
Good job with a very creative and interesting idea!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:52 pm

This is what fanfic is all about. It fills in the empty spots, gives us a peek into the characters and cultures, and entertains as well. Not to mention, it's a swell piece of writing. Kudos all around. This was a fantastic piece.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
owleyed

Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Reviews: 2
Location: 
Sat Mar 27, 2004 7:17 pm

I love it, it's such a sweet fic and a different idea of what could have happened on their journey to darkness and yeah...I don't think Tolkein had a lot of humor or merriment in the books only bits of it. It's still amazingly great though. I laughed through some of it and it takes a good fic to do that for me... I usually don't read humor-induced fics because the characters go out of character...so cheers! -Owl
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile
Monaleoht
Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Reviews: 353
Location: I travel with the wind, as free as an eagle soaring the great firmament above Arda
Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:16 pm

Wonderful! Really well done - it's very sweet and humourous! Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face Very Happy smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
GypsieRose

Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Reviews: 45
Location: Illinois, USA
Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:35 pm

I just finished this and I loved it! What a perfectly delightful story. It's so rare to see happy stories of Boromir's time with the Fellowship, and this one was happy--with just enough of a wistful, bittersweet undertone to keep it interesting. I liked the descriptions of the various dances, especially Gimli's for some reason. (I find myself thinking that dwarves would probably mostly do solo dances for exhibition, somehow).

One thing that did confuse me just the littles bit was the mix of book and movie-canon. Thinks like Boromir teaching the hobbits to swordfight could easily happen within the bookverse, but the account of Bilbo's birthday contradicts the book; Pippin was eleven at the time in the bookverse, so he wouldn't have expected to dance! That was a momentary distraction for me, but not a major one.

I'm recommending this story on the Brothers of Gondor message board (http://www.thewhitetower.net/bf1/). Beautiful job!

--Rose

P.S. You've even spawned a plot bunny for me which may develop into something one of these days!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
SilentStep
Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Reviews: 1
Location: 
Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:09 pm

This is *wonderful!* I enjoyed it immensely. I've always wondered what it would be like to see the Fellowship dance. Well done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Alassante

Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Reviews: 459
Location: Hitchhiking to Rivendell
Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:01 pm

Good job!!! I had to read one of yours for your nice note on mine. This is my first but Bravo!! And I love the way you caught each character's personality so accurately.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
fadagaski

Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Reviews: 4
Location: England
Tue Apr 12, 2005 9:23 am

Ai! I've read this story before, aaages ago ... possibly on FFNet, which is most likely why I probably didn't leave a review. ^_^; I loved this when I first read it, because it was comical enough to fit in with the pre-Moria part of the quest as relayed by Tolkien, but also has a note of seriousness in that Pippin has learnt to fight so well that he can, if necessary, defeat an Orc (who, let's face it, isn't going to be as skilled and graceful as Aragorn). *loves*
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
NeumeIndil

Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Reviews: 156
Location: New York, USA
Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:09 am

As usual, Nancy, a great piece. I never would have thought of it. Each character is there in all of his facets and it paints a deep and more intimate picture of Boromir than we usually get. I also like that no specific dance partner is brought up from his past. After all, the man deserves to have some secrets. Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message