Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Red Dawn, Golden Flower"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Maram68

Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 114
Location: West from East
Thu Jun 26, 2003 4:38 pm

I absolutely loved it when I read it first ..... a long time ago ina galaxy far far away Laughing smiley face

I still love it now , since I think that there are not many LOTR Fanfic writers that are as comfortable and at ease with the Silmarillion and Elven Culture as you are.

Thank you, for a lovely, bittersweet tale ...
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Elentari

Joined: 13 May 2003
Reviews: 246
Location: Lost in elven dreams...
Wed Jul 09, 2003 9:48 am

I cried.
need I say more?
Wonderfully written, delightfully canon, and just the perfect amount of angst and love, duty and survival.
Wave smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile on ICQ
Levade

Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Reviews: 3
Location: 
Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:58 am

I love Glorfindel, and this is a wonderful telling of his tale. Simply beautiful! His sacrifice makes it all that much moreso...and adds to the beauty of the character. I think though, somewhere in one of the HoME volumes, Christopher Tolkien did show that his father meant Glorfindel of Gondolin to be the same as the Glorfindel of Imladris. So, you're perfectly in "canon" here! Very Happy smiley face Lovely story, Viv!

Peace,
Levade
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Papilio
Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Reviews: 8
Location: Scotland
Fri Aug 08, 2003 4:40 pm

So very tragic but extremely beautiful! You are skilled in pulling at your readers heartstrings!

Excellent!

Wave smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LOTRlover
Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Reviews: 6
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Sun Nov 02, 2003 12:43 pm

Bawl smiley face I read this story on ff.net a good while ago, and it's in my favorites list there. I'm glad to see you're enchanting readers with it here on Open Scrolls as well.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
sindohte

Joined: 14 May 2003
Reviews: 157
Location: Rubbing up against an Elf
Fri Jan 16, 2004 7:20 pm

What a powerful story. You have a way of painting vivid pictures with your words. I felt like I was actually there witnessing Glorfindel's final battle. Bawl smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Devaeriel
Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Reviews: 10
Location: Australia
Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:24 am

I love it Viv, I know I've told you that before. This story has me crying, and admiring my favourite Elf all the more
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile
slydog
Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Reviews: 5
Location: 
Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:21 pm

Great story
Tiny gripe
Idril did not have the warrior-like role she had in the book of lost tales.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:04 pm

slydog said
> Great story
> Tiny gripe
> Idril did not have the warrior-like role she had in the book of lost tales.

Yes. You are not the first person to point that out. Wink smiley face I decided to follow the Silm account only, but that probably wasn't clear in my AN (hopefully have fixed that now). Thanks for reading, for taking the time to review, and for pointing out a potential oops. I really appreciate it!
 

_________________
Last edited by Viv on Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:34 pm
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
slydog
Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Reviews: 5
Location: 
Sat Mar 27, 2004 1:15 pm

Hi
I hope u dont think that i think that ur story was any less touching because of the different role. It was great and i fust wanted to point that out to non fanatics who dont think tolkien gives fighting roles to his women.
Great story...again
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail