Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Oath Renewed"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
SilverMoonLady

Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Reviews: 251
Location: Breaking in a Brandybuck... *wicked grin*
Thu May 06, 2004 5:19 pm

This is a very good story! Well written (despite a few little errors I'm sure a quick sweep will correct), and well told! I'm not actually familiar with the history that surrounds this, except in the vaguest terms (must get back to my Silm), but your plot logic seems sound, and you handle the characters nicely. I particularly like your descriptions of Galadriel. Is it actually complete? The end is a little abrupt... Could be just me though Very Happy smiley face Lovely! Gonna read more of you, I hopeSmile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 137
Location: The Grey Havens
Thu May 06, 2004 11:44 pm

Very interesting story! I enjoyed reading it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 325
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Fri May 07, 2004 12:50 am

As did I. I bet a lot of thought went into this work.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Ingole
Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Reviews: 36
Location: Washington State, USA
Sun May 16, 2004 1:01 am

You have an admirable command of the Silmarillion (!) and a great instinct for the appropriate cadence of dialogue. I also enjoyed the strong visual quality of your descriptions. "...so detailed that only the alabaster color revealed it as marble..." "...expected to see the chest rise and fall..." I could clearly see the marble of Amarie.
A beautifully textured, nostalgic piece.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Haleth

Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Reviews: 96
Location: The ruins of Tharbad.
Sun May 16, 2004 5:55 pm

I'm very glad to see this story here. It is well thought out and very believable.

It's very good to see a fill-in-the-blanks that keeps everyone in character. It's a rare gem to find.


Haleth
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 107
Location: 
Fri May 21, 2004 1:28 am

This is an excellent story and I was glad to see someone pursue a line of reasoning for something I'd wondered about myself many times. How did Elendil from Numenor get a sword made by Telchar the Dwarf in the First Age? You gave a very plausible and well thought out answer for that. Fantastic knowledge of the Silm. I look forward to seeing more work from you.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SilverMoonLady

Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Reviews: 251
Location: Breaking in a Brandybuck... *wicked grin*
Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:42 am

Lovely completion! We now know where it came from, how it got here and where it is going. Very nice!

Now go and write more! Anything you want, but more! Wink smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Artanis
Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Reviews: 19
Location: USA
Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:24 am

Another great story! Like Andreth, I always wondered how Elendil got his sword. Obviously incorporating Finrod and Galadriel into ANY story is a winner for me! Very Happy smiley face I know I'm grasping for more story here, but what about Galadriel hearing the tale of Elendil's fall? Seeing the shards of Narsil lying in honor in Imladris? Or Aragorn with the Fellowship in Lothlorien, bearing the sword? Surprised smiley faceops:

I'm glad I found this piece, and I eagerly aniticpate your next piece of work!
Wave smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
ellie
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Reviews: 110
Location: Where I am now.
Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:00 pm

Excellent. Loved Gildor. I loved the statue of Amarie. How romantic and wonderful! Looking forward to reading more of your work. Keep writing!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:37 pm

I'm composing an ode to this fic for the MEFA voting, but I wanted to pop in here and just let you know that I've read it and am highly impressed. Real nice stuff here. And silmfic to boot! Squee!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo