Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Bedside Chatter"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Mon May 17, 2004 4:36 pm

What a compelling little gap-filler! Leave it to Pip to inquire about ale, even in dire situations. Wink smiley face But you didn't make him a buffoon: you made him young and battle-scarred and heroic. And how nice for Eomer to recognize all these things.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Anna

Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Reviews: 108
Location: Sweden
Tue May 18, 2004 4:24 am

Lovely! Thank you for giving me a bit more substance to a character I´ve never really given much attention. Eomer, too, was good.
Both of them are warriors and it comes across really well in this fic. I´m particularly glad you didn´t portray Pippin as a prankster and a foolish child.

Well done! Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Tue May 18, 2004 8:23 am

This was wonderful; poignant and humorous at the same time. And, in another balancing act, you had Pippin show his maturity while Eomer showed his youthfulness, I thought. Well done!

I heard one funny note, though: not sure Pippin would say 'aught' - 'no one will say aught.'
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lelin
Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Reviews: 29
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Tue May 18, 2004 10:33 am

Very nice story - good interaction between two characters whose interaction we see little of in canon. Thanks for giving us this! And...umm....any chance you'll be giving us more of Diamond in the Storm? Smile smiley face

Lelin
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Haleth

Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Reviews: 96
Location: The ruins of Tharbad.
Tue May 18, 2004 4:10 pm

A wonderful gap filler. The tone is true to Tolkien's writing, particularly Pippin's comments about impolite trolls falling on people. The more serious exchanges shows how he has matured.

Eomer seems a little uneasy with his duty of watching the hobbits, but that fits, too. It seemed to me that he would be more comfortable riding into battle than tending a sick person. But he would have to learn to do to be a good king.

I very much enjoyed this.

Haleth
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Novedhelion

Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Reviews: 42
Location: NC
Thu May 20, 2004 10:05 am

A lovely little piece. Loved the recognition of valor from one soldier to another, as well as the revelation although these men were brave warriors, they did fear, and they did lose hope...I think people tend to think of courage as the absence of fear instead of what it really is - knowing fear and facing it head-on anyway.

And I love seeing Éomer in more fics...in my opinion, he's highly underrated.

Beautiful job!

Novedhelion
Bard of Rohan
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
sindohte

Joined: 14 May 2003
Reviews: 157
Location: Rubbing up against an Elf
Fri May 21, 2004 6:19 pm

What a well written character study of a meeting between two such unlikely individuals. You managed to imbue Pippin with a depth that is often overlooked due to his continually playful nature. And as for Eomer, what can I say I say about the Third Marshall of the Riddermark? He is a man's man.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hathor

Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Reviews: 53
Location: Lancashire, England
Mon May 24, 2004 3:58 pm

This is lovely - thanks so much for posting. I particularly liked Eomer in this... well done!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Ariel

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 49
Location: 
Fri Jun 18, 2004 11:39 am

Excellent! Oh, very, very good. How did I miss this one?

Ariel
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 504
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Sun Sep 26, 2004 3:17 pm

Very well done. The maturity of Pippin is very evident, as is what will always be Pippin. This fills in a nice seam in the tapestry that is LOTR. How kind of Tolkien to leave us these little holes. Thank you, very much.

Drunk smiley face Drunk smiley face Lurk smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo