Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Them star-rating things: how to use them

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Viv
Challenge Admin

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:25 pm    Post subject: Them star-rating things: how to use them Reply with quote

First, I don't run this site, so I'm far, far from the official voice here. I'm just a writer and a reader. But I've been here a while and seen some things.

And Folks, it just ain't helpful to read a story, rate it with one star, and have done. Now I'm not saying there aren't stories that deserve one-star ratings, and I've probably assigned more than a few over the years. But if you decide to one-star a story, please have the courtesy to PM the author and give gentle constructive criticism on how to improve the story. No flaming, of course, but an explanation is just polite. Imagine how startling it can be to pour your soul into a story, get up the courage to post it, and then see a one-star rating next to it, with no explanation.

Now, for all I know, you folks who've given one-star ratings have sent out PMs already, and if you have, Good on you. For anybody who hasn't, please consider doing it, or changing your rating.

I just think it ain't right to use the anonymity of the star rating system here to be mean.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
NancyBrooke
Challenge Admin

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hear, Hear!
Nazgul #3 in charge of ducking & sniggering

Garo golf a conu ned i eneth aran an ir ho delitha ad
NeumeIndil

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*golf clap* Nicely said.

http://embullybreedrescue.org/
Robbie
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote