Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Rider of the Mark"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:05 pm

This is about halfway between prose and poetry. I have to confess that the hectic pace confuzzled me a bit, but the refrain "sweet young thing" made me feel like being confuzzled was okay. Like songs that you listen to when you're drunk: they sometimes sound nice, even if you have no idea what they mean.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
SpaceWeavil

Joined: 27 May 2004
Reviews: 365
Location: Looking at shiny things
Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:04 am

I have to agree with Viv in that I was a bit...confuzzled is actually the best word I've heard to be honest Laughing smiley face But saying that, the prose-poetry style, particularly at the beginning was compelling reading. Somehow the rhythm of it helped suck me in as a reader. It is also nice to see a (again for want of a better word) less-used character get the spotlight. I haven't read any, but I assume from your summary that poor old Gamling gets a lot of slash dedicated to him, so well done for setting the record straight. (Excuse that pun, it was actually unintentional Confused smiley face )
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
ViJanaway

Joined: 07 May 2004
Reviews: 78
Location: Near Dallas, Texas
Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:20 am

Very Happy smiley face Smile smiley face Cool smiley face Laughing smiley face Wink smiley face Exclamation smiley face Bounce smiley face Bunny smiley face Bunny smiley face Bunny smiley face Bunny smiley face Bow smiley face Kiss smiley face Big Wink smiley face Big Hug smiley face Hippy smiley face
You have done it again...I am really enjoying this...
I think you truly needed a break from the gloom and doom.......
Ride 'em, Rohirrim!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
MaryA
Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: Michigan
Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:10 am

Gamling must get laid, but first a nice back rub...awwww!
Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
ZeeDrippyVessel

Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 95
Location: deep south
Mon Dec 13, 2004 9:09 am

Thank you for the reviews. This story is a departure for me - a needed break from the heavy angst of my other "monster child."

Viv and SpaceWeavel - what you are seeing, is Gamling's thoughts. I have YET to figure out HOW to do italics and stuff here and I can see where following this fast could be difficult. While NOT italics, I hope I have fixed the problem and made it easier to envision.

As for Gamling het - it is impossible to find. Everything I have seen so far, pairs him with Hama or Théoden and I'm just not a slashy kinda girl.

Thanks again.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
lorienbabe
Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Reviews: 4
Location: 
Mon Dec 13, 2004 4:36 pm

i'm not 'confuzzled' a bit. This is a lovely piece of work, giving depth and development to a character so easily seen as 'simple'. I applaud your effort. You are an amazing story teller. Why in all of Arda are you giving it away for free?
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bay
Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Reviews: 15
Location: 
Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:26 pm

Dear Zee. Sigh. Dear dear dear Zee! This is lovely and fun and simply wonderful, but, um some of us were wondering if you were going to leave poor Brownwyin just stuck there at Hogwarts. SO PLEASE GET BACK TO BROWNWYN.
And oh, yeah, finish this 'cause I'm just dying to actually get to the smut. You are going to give us some smut, aren't you?
love you, love all your stuff.............bay
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ZeeDrippyVessel

Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 95
Location: deep south
Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:28 pm

Bay said
> Dear Zee. Sigh. Dear dear dear Zee!

Dear, Dear Bay! (So glad we got that settled! )


>This is lovely and fun and simply wonderful,

THank you. I"m rather fond of it. In FACT, despite the confusion of some, I personally think this will wrap up being my best work to date.

>but, um some of us were wondering if you were going to leave poor Brownwyin just stuck there at Hogwarts. SO PLEASE GET BACK TO BROWNWYN.

Apparently word didn't get ALL the way around. My son had open heart surgery in October and the original 2 muses have literally been on strike ever since. Due to the stress of the surgery and the fact that the current season is so hectic, Tel' Lindar has been hung up for barnacle scraping until after the New Year. No, I will not leave Bronwyn stuck in Hogwarts. No, I'm not abandoning the fic. I just need a break from the angst.

> And oh, yeah, finish this cause I'm just dying to actually get to the smut. You are going to give us some smut, aren't you?

NO! NO SMUT!!!!!

Okay, I'm lying! What would a Zee fic without Smut??? (And no, not Smut the Dragon!)

Yes. Gamling will get laid. And get laid well. So will Aefre. And guess what - they WILL do each other and most joyfully, I assure you!


love you, love all your stuff.............bay

Thank you.

Zee
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
Jomitsui
Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Reviews: 29
Location: Singapore
Wed Dec 15, 2004 4:10 am

The story is nice, always enjoy your work...hehe...especially smut. Twisted Evil smiley face

Anyway, I do agree with some of them that the 'thoughts' is abit distracting thou I'm not confused. Thou it did allow me to know more abt what Gamling is thinking and the debates within his mind is kind of interesting to read abt. Maybe writing it in another way will be better for those that are confused by it? I don't know... Confused smiley face

Keep writing, it is nice to read another story from you, Tel' Lindar is getting too angst for me.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 378
Location: 
Wed Dec 15, 2004 7:52 am

Been reading this on another forum Zee, and I love the way you've done Eomer. I always enjoy your writing, even though for the most part, I'm an elf kinda girl. I didn't get the confusion but that could be because I started reading it in a different format. Keep it up girl. You make Gamling so sexy.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message