Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Gríma Goldentongue"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:13 pm

I hardly know what to say! To a story so rich in lyricism and baubled with description where words themselves become the road to, the tool of, and the reliquary of power - amazing!

You have not only revived Tolkien's characters here you have perfectly created the roads by which the travelled into those pages. I am in awe of your vision of Grima - you lay the seeds of all the strengths and weaknesses of character by which he is more commonly known, and with compassion and equinimity.

Lackwit - your name fits you ill.
 

_________________
Last edited by NancyBrooke on Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:04 am
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Haleth

Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Reviews: 96
Location: The ruins of Tharbad.
Sat Jan 29, 2005 8:39 pm

A wonderfully sympathetic view of Grima and how he chose his own downfall.

The explanation of how he became one of Theoden's advisors is well thought out.

The use of language in this story is simply lovely.

I'm looking forward to reading more of your work.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 324
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:29 am

A well thought of plot... made me shudder a bit. Women is the cause of men's downfall... hehe... *ducks all feminists worldwide*

Seriously, your flow of language is poetic and lyrical....(can that be in the same sentece?)

Ditto, loved it...in a disturbed kinda way.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
eokat
Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Reviews: 31
Location: England
Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:44 am

This is so good. So intense. I love the name that Eowyn gives to Grima....and then we know what is he called latterly do we not?
Eokat.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sulriel

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Reviews: 327
Location: Imladris (or maybe Texas ...)
Sat Mar 25, 2006 9:52 am

I can't really add much to what others have said above, but I'll add my 'well done' to theirs. Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
krazykataave

Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Reviews: 127
Location: Immortalized by John Denver
Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:26 am

Very good!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NeumeIndil

Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Reviews: 156
Location: New York, USA
Sat Mar 25, 2006 4:36 pm

This is an excellent short story, very well built and richly detailed. The characters are all portrayed very well in a tight space- Eowyn's passion, Eomer's temper, Theoden's wisdom- with just a few words doing so much. A great choice for story of the day. Thank you for it.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Cuthalion

Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Reviews: 79
Location: Germany
Sat Mar 25, 2006 6:22 pm

Wonderful... rich in language and imagery, thrilling and haunting at the same time. Would you allow me to translate this into german? My site is here:

http://www.cuthalionsbogen.de/home.html
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 504
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:45 pm

A truly outstanding filler. You have done a wonderful job here, opening a glimpse of what he was before the turn. Quite plausible. Thank you for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo