Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Those Also Serve Who Stand and Wait"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 324
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Sun Feb 13, 2005 4:28 am

Loved it. Smile smiley face

Didn't know Fingolfin had a sister too.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Drew

Joined: 13 Feb 2005
Reviews: 6
Location: England
Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:30 am

I liked it very much Smile smiley face Well done. Keep writing, i'd like to see more!

Drew
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
ghettoelleth

Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Reviews: 378
Location: 
Mon Feb 14, 2005 11:34 am

Haleth, honey that was beautiful. It made me cry. I am such a first age geekmeister. Very well written. Very easy to read yet the language was gorgeous. You have a great beta and what a wonderful little tale. Good for you hon.

Jes
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Leaward
Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Reviews: 16
Location: a tiny padded room in Arnor
Sun Feb 27, 2005 9:25 am

Others have gone back to Aman, pardoned by the Powers for their earlier defiance. I remain here, seemingly too proud to ask for forgiveness. In truth I am too weak to face the empty places where I once laughed. I will wait here, an Exile, until the end.

I found this very powerful -- how often despair can be called pride! You've really captured the emotions she felt -- and kept it all within canon -- and within such a short piece. Well done.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sulriel

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Reviews: 327
Location: Imladris (or maybe Texas ...)
Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:31 am

I saw this as the story of the day this morning, and I'm so very glad to have read it. I've often seen people criticize Tolkien for his lack of strength of female characters, but as you clearly show, while he may not have spotlighted them in his own writings, they certainly are there for those of us who care to look. Indeed, the homes must be kept if there is to be anything to return to, and sometimes that takes the greatest strength of all.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website