Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Survival of the Fittest"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
LadyBluejay

Joined: 03 Feb 2005
Reviews: 126
Location: UK
Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:15 am

Very nice. Enjoyed all of it, but loved this bit - 'Snowmane’s rider fought valiantly and will be remembered almost as fondly as the stallion that bore him.'

Good old Firefoot - what would we do without him! LBJ
 
Author's replied on Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:53 pm
Thanks so much. Firefoot was not an easy POV for me to write, I must say. I'm glad it worked for you!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:54 am

Excellent! I love how you portrayed Firefoot and expressed his thoughts. I especially liked what you said about the horses' need to communicate with their riders and their helplessness when the men were unaware of that. Very poignant!

Wonderful challenge entry! Thank you.
 
Author's replied on Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:54 pm
I don't know much about horses, but I always imagined they would be a bit frustrated with not being understood. Thanks for the review.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NancyBrooke
Joined: 12 May 2003
Reviews: 558
Location: In a motel 6 by the airport
Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:28 am

Really well done Eira. You create a unique voice here, and a unique POV expressed almost exclusively (appropriately) through the narrator's senses. I particularly loved those little sparkling droplets of exposition throughout - the lose of his dam and why, Snowmane's frustration, etc. Good stuff!
 
Author's replied on Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Thank you so much. This piece really was a challenge for me in more ways than one. Firefoot took more out of me than I expected!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sulriel

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Reviews: 327
Location: Imladris (or maybe Texas ...)
Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:43 pm

Very well done Eira. You know I especially love this POV.
 
Author's replied on Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:20 pm
Thanks so much, though I'm sure you could have done it better! :0)
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:50 am

I should have suspected that a warhorse of Rohan would have such a noble voice. Thank you for giving him one that we can all read. I almost want to see a sequel where this guy is pastured out to stud and is livin' the good life. He deserves it, for his loyalty and fierce devotion. Figure you to make me care about a horse. Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:22 pm
*grins* I really should write more for good ol' Firefoot. Course that would involve a LOT more research. *wishes Mommy had bought her a horse when she was a girl*
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 132
Location: The Grey Havens
Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:58 am

What a great idea! Your PoV character is right in the press of battle, and has a unique view of the events. Firefoot is a very wise Mearh, and is tolerant of the foibles of his Rider and his ilk.

I've written a couple of drabbles from the PoV of Felaróf, Eorl's Mearh, so have an appreciation for well-written horse sense. LOL!

Well done!
 
Author's replied on Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:00 pm
Thanks so much. This is the first time I've written from a horse's POV, so it was a challenge.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail