Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "A Man In Full"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:25 pm

This is an extremely interesting story, beautifully written and well researched. I'm looking forward to reading more. Smile smiley face Thank you a lot for sharing.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 132
Location: The Grey Havens
Thu Apr 16, 2009 3:03 am

Oh, Jael, what an intriguing beginning!

I love the idea of the crusty old captain, refusing to just hand over his boat and thus participating in the Dunkirk evacuation. And it looks like the Titanic fascinates you as much as it does me.... The historic detail is (I think) accurate and really exquisite - obviously you've done lots of research! *rubs hands in glee*

Your Thranduil and Galion are such great characters... imagine, going down to third class for gambling and dancing - but not partaking of female companionship.... Shocking!

Your characters are rich and multifaceted, and I look forward to more of the captain's perceptive observations.

Great start!

- Barbara
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:49 pm

This story in wonderful. You made me believe that the catastrophe had happened exactly like you described it. Very poignant. Excellent!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 132
Location: The Grey Havens
Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:54 am

Oh, it just keeps getting better! I'm almost sorry that the Titanic part of the story is over, for I have so enjoyed all the rich details.

Will we see more about Dunkirk now?

This is a great situation, and a truly creative handling of it, Jael.... Very nicely done!

- Barbara
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ElenaTiriel

Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Reviews: 132
Location: The Grey Havens
Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:57 pm

Goosebumps.

And tears.

This is an extraordinary story, Jael. Just... extraordinary.

- Barbara
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:10 am

A very, very beautiful final chapter. Thank you, Jael, for sharing this brilliant story with us. It was a pleasure to read. Thank you.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tanaqui
Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Reviews: 1
Location: 
Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:52 am

Elena Tiriel recommended this story to me, and I'm so glad she did - it's simply gorgeous. I almost don't know where to begin to praise it, as there's so much to admire. The "voice" of your point of view character is perfect:- the expressions he uses and the attitudes he displays, such as his acceptance of casual racism and homophobia and yet his slight unease with it. I'm also very impressed by the way you so lightly use the historical facts in the telling of the tale, letting them emerge naturally from Lightoller's perspective, while weaving in the Tolkien mythology as naturally and seamlessly as if it is also part of history. And your writing itself generally is so tight, crisp and effective: every word, every sentence seems carefully weighed and nothing is wasted or awkward or out of place. In short - this is a marvellous piece. Thank you for gifting us with your talent.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
felis1215

Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Reviews: 119
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:03 pm

That was beautiful... well done. I look forward to seeing more of your writing!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail Send author an AIM message
Tumnus
Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Reviews: 1
Location: 
Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:14 am

Thanks for sharing this slice of imagination with us. I will echo that the work is cleverly written. I enjoyed it very much.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LadyLaurelin

Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Reviews: 4
Location: Walking beneath the trees...
Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:09 pm

Excellent story! So well-written and very moving... I'm currently trying to hunt down as many of your Not Fade Away stories as I can... Thank you so much for sharing your talent and imagination!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo