Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Brotherhood."

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:20 pm

Well, finally, I had enough time to sit and read the next installment of The Key series (and sorry for being late with my review. RL has been damn busy, ehhh), and boy! I enjoyed those two chapters verrrrry much!

I smiled at the fact that Tindome was embarrassed having been a subject of some sort of discussion between Rumil and his brother. Gossipy elves! LOL! Not to mention that she was informed about that by the two Els -- that didn't help, did it...? Wink smiley face. A very good job of providing the conversation between them; I really felt as if watching a tennis match.

You picked a few very interesting topics here, all those fascinating cultural differences, and I caught myself thinking just how I'd react or what I'd say ad vocem. I sort of felt sorry for Tindome, becuase she thought she'd learned a lot about the elves, and suddenly she found herself surprised. I guess it's part of being an -- let's say -- immigrant, and the immigrant among the immortal beings, no less!

Then, I also enjoyed the humor, a very strong advantage of your story. Smile smiley face Still, the hints of sorrow and melancholy in the mentions of the battle of Helm's Deep, then of Galadriel, Gandalf and their trip to the West made me nod thoughtfully.

Thank you for continuing the series. I'm looking forward to the next part.

Cheers,
Binka
 
Author's replied on Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:27 pm
So glad that you have found this and are enjoying it. There will continue to be a mixture of saddness and fun - and in typical elven fashion neither will be obvious to those outside the close group...

As usual I am well ahead on the writing compared with posting - but my internet connection tonight is very iffy, not good enough to post another chapter - I will probably do so tomorrow if the connection is any better!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:34 pm

Not to mention that this story made me so want to re-read the previous parts. It's been a while...

Very Happy smiley face
 
Author's replied on Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:28 pm
Enjoy - I am so pleased that you want to go back - there are one or two stories/series that I feel like that about, for mine to be one of the things on your personal 're-read' list is really flattering.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sun May 03, 2009 5:45 am

Oh! You lulled me into a nice 'slumber' and then you went KABOOM with a cliffhanger!

Still loving this Smile smiley face Well done!
 
Author's replied on Sun May 03, 2009 6:48 am
I have learnt, now, how to leave a chapter in just the right place, even if it leaves it a little short! I won't leave you dangling for long - the next chapter will be up in a day or two.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon May 04, 2009 12:03 pm

Ack! Poor Rumil... Here I was muttering to myself, "Why did you do it to him? Why???". Then I thought, ok, this story was a gap-filler, so he'd survive. Phew!

Great job! This was action-packed, and before I knew it, I reached the end of the chapter. On a side note, I have one small problem with it, and I will contact you via PM if you don't mind.
 
Author's replied on Mon May 04, 2009 1:06 pm
Oh yes - we know that he survives! I wouldn't be that cruel to them anyway - I have grown very fond of them.

Do feel free to send me a private message - there is a link somewhere, isn't there?
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Sun May 10, 2009 10:49 am

Oh dear God! *gasp* Dawn/Tindome was going through a really hard time! Not only Rumil was seriously injured, but she accidentally killed an innocent woman! A she heard about all the horrible things that the orcs had done to the poor people in the farm. Sad smiley face Well, yes, life in Middle Earth didn't mean only the (fairly) peaceful existence in Lothlórien *sigh*.

Keep up the great work! I'll be here to read & review the next part when it's up Smile smiley face Thank you for the most entertaining read.
 
Author's replied on Sun May 10, 2009 11:40 am
Thank you - I am always so happy to read your reviews! Yes - she is finding out that life is not all singing elves and golden trees - and events sometimes cast long shadows.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon May 18, 2009 10:59 am

Very good chapter! Aside from the aftermath of the skirmish (that, I think, Tindome will not forget, for an obvious reason), you've done a great job of reminding us again how different Tindome is from the elves and other humans of ME. She might well adopted her life as an elf, but to live in ME still seems a kind of minefield to her, I suppose. A very nice insight into Orophin's thoughts, too Smile smiley face

Looking forward to reading more! Thanks for updating Very Happy smiley face
 
Author's replied on Mon May 18, 2009 11:39 am
Thank you again for taking the time to let me know what you think - I really do appreciate it. Yes - she is discovering that life outside the Golden Wood is actually a bigger mine-field than life inside it. There will be glimpses from Orophin's point of view now and again throughout the whole story.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon May 25, 2009 12:29 pm

Ah the dream...! Sad smiley face

Very good stuff! I think it was a great lesson in social relations for Tindome. Great observations, and I like the talkative lady, too. Sometimes it's good to be able to communicate in another language, isn't it? Wink smiley face

Thank you for the update Very Happy smiley face
 
Author's replied on Mon May 25, 2009 1:29 pm
Thank you, again, for your review.

She is learning more about the Rohirrim, and will also learn more about elves over the next few chapters. I am so glad that you liked Lady Wilflede, she was fun to write.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:21 pm

Another cliff-hanger!

I very much like the way in which you portray the relationship between Tindome and Orophin. He's gentle and caring, and it's clear that he's fond of her, though there's also a sadder note to it.

And I'm eagerly waiting for the next part!

Thank you Very Happy smiley face Great story!
 
Author's replied on Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:35 pm
Thank you so much for taking the time to review - I really do appreciate it.

I've discovered that I can be quite good at the cliff-hanger!

The relationship with Orophin is central to the next few chapters...
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:15 am

What a heart-breaking chapter! There was something distrubing about the way in which Orophin mourned Haldir and recalled his memories. I thought he would fall apart, he was so vulnerable.

Well done! Smile smiley face
 
Author's replied on Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:57 am
Thank you - yes, Orophin has been under increasing pressure for a while - this was a cathartic point for him. There will be more about him in the next couple of chapters, too.
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobinKa

Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Reviews: 1118
Location: Wherever I may roam
Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:40 pm

Very nice. Touching, funny from time to time, and sensual as well. Still loving this story.
 
Author's replied on Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:34 pm
Thank you, I'm glad that the mix is about right!
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail