Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Recollections"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
Thevina
Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Reviews: 31
Location: U.S.
Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:59 pm

What an exquisite story. Poignant, heart-rending, ultimately wonderfully *real.* Truly a beautiful vignette. Thank you for writing it!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message
eirwen
Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Reviews: 26
Location: UK
Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:41 pm

Exquisite. Evocative. Human - or should I say hobbit-like. Neatly and empathetically conjours up the back story through the youthful POV. It spoke to me. thank you.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 324
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Mon Feb 23, 2004 8:14 am

Lovely and superb.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Hathor

Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Reviews: 53
Location: Lancashire, England
Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:27 pm

Spectacular. I can think of no other words to describe this lovely, lovely piece of writing. Fits perfectly the characters and the one doing the telling.

Thank you so much for sharing!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 107
Location: 
Mon Feb 23, 2004 2:44 pm

This is wonderful. You've captured the inquisitiveness of a child and portrayed the child-like fear at finding that some folk tales are very real. You told the tale very well from a young girl's point of view, showing Merry through her eyes. Excellent job.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ariel

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 48
Location: 
Sun Apr 04, 2004 6:40 pm

Oh, marvellous! Very true to character and a delightful read. Brought a tear to my eye too. I always loved stories about the last days of Merry and Pippin. So sad and yet so right an end. *sob* You have done a masterful job!
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
SamwiseTheStrong
Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Reviews: 52
Location: Oregon, USA
Thu Dec 16, 2004 2:00 am

Our Merry would be proud to know that his story is in such capable hands. I myself bow to you *bows*. This is a lovely story and you seem to have mastered the character beautifully. Thanks for the joy!! :}
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
JayofLasgalen
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Reviews: 2
Location: Devon, England
Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:43 am

What a lovely tale, and one I'd have missed if it hadn't been featured on the front page. I liked the way you included Merry's scar on his forehead.


Jay
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ViJanaway

Joined: 07 May 2004
Reviews: 78
Location: Near Dallas, Texas
Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:10 pm

A loving, gentle, tale. So very nice to see the continuation. Laughing smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's profile on Yahoo
Merlynnod
Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Reviews: 1
Location: East Tennessee
Mon Dec 27, 2004 4:36 am

Oh my...Lovely, beautiful, heartbreaking story! I know that feeling...of being the only girl (or in my case simply the oldest, though also one of only 2 girl granchildren) and that special bond with a grandfather. Smile smiley face

Your prose was just that, truly poetic and beautiful, perfectly capturing the mood and the dailiness of life, especially life as a child.

Beautiful, beautiful story.

And the ending...those who sailed too soon...That shore can be an awfully cold and lonely place...but there is always the hope of what or more truly who, lie beyond the farthest horizon.

Incredible story... Smile smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website