Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews for "Goldberry's Song"

You must be logged in to leave a review

AuthorReview
LuthienTinuviel
Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Reviews: 324
Location: Dancing in the clouds.
Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:59 am

It's good... My only complaint was that I preferred simpler rhymes... =)
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo View author's profile
Andreth
Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Reviews: 107
Location: 
Wed Apr 14, 2004 8:24 am

This is wonderful. I'm very happy to see you've started posting your work over here.

The Adventures of Tom Bombadil was the first Tolkien book I received at the age of eight and I've read it repeatedly for 26 years now because I never tire of it. I love the poems in that book and I love this poem for the same reasons - it's light hearted and rhythmic enough to sound like almost like a child's rhyme, but it doesn't just slide through your mind like simple child's rhymes. There is a deeper meaning that clings tenaciously to the mind and makes one process and enjoy. Just like Tolkien's poems in Tom Bombadil. I found the phrasing, the word choices, and the style to be highly remiscent of Tolkien's poems. So whether or not you were intentionally trying to mimic the good professor, you succeeded in doing so, although not so much so that the poem doesn't sound very original.

I'm sorry to leave such a long, rambling review, but it's not very often that I find a poem I enjoy as much as I've enjoyed the professor's all these years. Extremely good work. I hope we get to see more of it.


Anna
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Viv

Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Reviews: 675
Location: Texas
Wed Apr 14, 2004 8:36 pm

This was lovely... I absolutely felt a part of the river, beguiled by Tom. And the details -- his beard and yellow boots, her feet aching on land -- were fantastic. I'll grant you I haven't read much poetry in this fandom, but this may be the best I've read so far. Thanks for posting! More?
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website Send author an AIM message View author's profile on Yahoo
Vulgarweed
Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Reviews: 8
Location: The Sickly Crescent (Best Tavern in the Morgul Vale)
Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:08 pm

Wow - that was fast! Thank you all so much!

LuthienTinuviel - Laughing smiley face They're not that complicated really.

Andreth - Thank you so much! Yes, I did try to emulate Tolkien's style in The Adventures of Tom Bombadil quite a bit; it seemed fitting. I love old Tom - so silly and somewhat irritating on the surface, but there's something quite ancient and eldritch about him, a certain Green Man-ish quality. The way that courtship story's told in that book, though, it's all about him! We get so little idea of what her feelings on the matter are, what she sees in him. In Tolkien's poem it sounds like he's bossing her around - and I don't think that's how SHE would see it!

Viv - Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. I'm still not sure exactly what Tom and Goldberry "are" and I rather like them mysterious, but if she's some type of nymph (a Maia in Tolkien's terms) she could take on a more humanish form with effort if she chose...but considering the role music plays in shaping the world, Tom might be able to help. I also think she needs water around her a lot even when she's on land (in LOTR we see her with her feet in water surrounded by lilies) and I also decided she still merges back into the river and goes roaming from time to time.

This is the only poem I've written in this vein but I wouldn't rule out doing more - it was tons of fun. And I like this archive a lot, but there isn't all that much I've written yet that isn't slash! Will be added as it comes along.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website
Marta
Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Reviews: 12
Location: Bronx, NY
Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:32 pm

Vulgarweed-

I do write a fair amount of poetry (not excessive amounts of stand-alone pieces, but most of my stories have original verse in them). While I'm not an expert, poetry is something I think about. And this is good.

So much good stuff in there, it's had to pick out one thing I really liked above all the others. I suuppose it would be that you showed how Goldberry needed old Tom. I mean, in the books it's almos tlike Tom puts Goldberry in a pedestal, but you're never really quite sure why she's so great. At least I wasn't. She was a likeable character and I really enjoy her, don't get me wrong, but there's a real sense of Tom needing Goldberry but Goldberry not necessarily needing Tom. (My opinion; YMMV) But in your poem, Goldberry benefited from Tom as much as Tom benefited from Goldberry.

Sorry, it's late here. I'm afraid that's about as coherent as I can be. Good poem, at any rate.
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo
Rous

Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Reviews: 504
Location: Trying to stay below the radar
Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:47 am

I loved it. To me, it is better than most of the fiction written in this realm. Some of the meter was a little off, but, then, that is the complaint I get about my poetry, so it is not a criticism. The imagery was outstanding. The rhymes worked very well, even the lines that did not follow the pattern. In all honesty, I like this better than the other two pieces you have posted here. Not that they are not good, just too dark for even me (and some of my stuff at another site is bottom of the emotional barrel). I think you should tackle another poem, maybe on a totally different character. I would like to see what you do for them. LOL Thank you VERY MUCH for this one.

Drunk smiley face Lurk smiley face
 
View author's profile Send private message Send e-mail View author's website View author's profile on Yahoo