Login

Lost Password?

Create New Account

Reviews by athena568

StoryReview
Flame of Gondolin, book 5: Into the Storm (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [11]
Warnings [violence, angst, action]
Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:23 pm

What a wonderful and fitting ending - with a new beginning to Anarie and Glorfindel's story. The descriptions of the gathering - especially of Thranduil and the Wodland elves was amazing. Thanks for continuing the story to such a wonderful conclusion.
 
Author's replied on Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:51 am
Thank you so much for coming back and reading! I do apologise for not finishing this sooner, I have no idea what happened. Openscrolls just wouldn't let me log in! One more book to go, when I get to it Smile smiley face happy holidays!
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 5: Into the Storm (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [11]
Warnings [violence, angst, action]
Mon May 16, 2016 8:06 pm

Wow, I would have never thought this point of view would be so intriguing. But Anárië, Elladan and Elrohir helping to muster the Dunedain - is story in itself and one that is not flushed out near enough in the larger tale. Great chapter!
 
Author's replied on Fri May 20, 2016 1:43 am
Thank you! I thought that if the twins rode with the Dúnedain to Aragorn they probably had a thing to say about mustering them as well.
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 5: Into the Storm (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [11]
Warnings [violence, angst, action]
Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:46 pm

Wow, I like your take on things - and how we see just pieces of Arwen and Aragorn but move ahead through Anarie's perspective. So, she knows that they will bind, but does not want to inform Elrond. …And she sees more of Eärendil in Elrond - but certainly, there is no indication of what the Mariner might have thought about that situation. I wonder how that will play out. I've always thought Elrond must have loved them both, and perhaps foresaw disaster should they wed too soon. I'm looking forward to your take on it - via Anarie's and Glorfindel's perspectives perhaps?
 
Author's replied on Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:44 am
There will certainly be a take on it, and hopefully it will make sense. Thank you for the review!
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 5: Into the Storm (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [11]
Warnings [violence, angst, action]
Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:01 pm

I honestly didn't know what to think about the battle between Lachuí and Útheas in the last chapter - then here you go and totally surprise me. Wow, I did not see that coming. You weave the disparate threads together into a compelling tale. Then of course you have Anná pushing Elrond to tell Estel his heritage, but you have her making a good-bye cloak for the boy as they are wishing him well with the Dunedain. Pretty nice allusion to Arwen & Estel's meeting without actually showing it. Great chapter!
 
Author's replied on Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:11 pm
Thanks! Yeah I need to keep the characters all around somehow, so domestic disputes sometimes help haha.
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 5: Into the Storm (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [11]
Warnings [violence, angst, action]
Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:54 pm

Part five! Excellent - I've been waiting for a continuation of Anárië and Glorfindel's adventures. An interesting glimpse of the aftermath of the battle with Dol Guldor thrown down, but with the more serious observation that it was not just some darkness there - but perhaps Sauron himself moving. You do portray well the weariness that comes from the realization that one is fighting the same fight again. "Elrond should have tossed Isildur into Crack of Doom when he’d had the chance!" Anárië certainly is exhausted to be second guessing events from ages ago. Sad, that Elladan and Elrohir appear not to have helped with this particular fight. Will we see more details about them later? Good start to the next installment!
 
Author's replied on Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:37 am
Yes, our Elves are all like 'we don't want to anymore' haha, but I feel it's a realistic thing, they're leaving Middle Earth and are just tired. We will see more of the twins later on!
 
Flame of Gondolin, novella: Hold On (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [7]
Reviews [4]
Warnings [violence, angst, torture]
Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:34 pm

Compelling chapter! The encounter with the wolves was nail biting. Although aren't Elrohir and Elladan battle tried warriors by now at a respectable age of ~2000+ and not so very young? Still. it works quite well in your story and it is very hard to wrap one's head around elven ages. Perhaps as elves of the watchful peace….. Lachuí will likely think up some more punishment, mitigated a little by the last comments.
 
Author's replied on Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:39 am
They are, in a way, but at the same time, they haven't actually fought in any serious battles yet like the older Elves, so I'm not precisely saying they are inexperienced, they simply don't quite understand the seriousness of the situation yet Smile smiley face thanks for reviewing!
 
Flame of Gondolin, novella: Hold On (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [7]
Reviews [4]
Warnings [violence, angst, torture]
Mon Sep 14, 2015 5:05 pm

Oh no - the year is 2509! Could the drama be ratched any higher? Love your portrayal of Celebrian - she and Anárië are such strong, bold characters. But for Celebrian - my heart clenches with fear, since we know tragedy is looming. Could her sons or husband have dissuaded her? It does not seem so. Then the bell tolling of danger and Gildor's company's arrival - all seems set as a diversion of epic proportions. A nail-biting start to the new story, for sure.
 
Author's replied on Tue Sep 15, 2015 3:18 am
Thank you for reading! I've always felt Celebrían had to be someone with character to be able to marry Elrond. The next segment goes up tonight!
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 4: Once Upon a Dream (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [13]
Warnings [arrogance, stubborness, violence]
Tue May 05, 2015 5:13 am

With all the fan fiction views of elves celebrating their 'begetting day', the sad event of an early miscarriage was unexpected. Poor Anárië - that is not how one wants to find out about a pregnancy. I suspect they will grieve for awhile. In Japan, there are shrines and even memorial services for those who have had a miscarriage. I wonder if it elves would have something similar? You portray Anárië and Glorfindel as very private people, so such a service would reflect that. A sad twist to the tale.
 
Author's replied on Thu May 07, 2015 2:49 am
Thank you for sticking through the story with me and our favourite couple. I wanted to represent how Anárië gets to struggle with who she is after just accepting it, because being a mother and the Marshal won't quite work ... I love the idea of a shrine or memorial service! I'll have to look into that. Thank you again for reading, and I hope you'll keep following these adventures when they return in autumn Smile smiley face
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 4: Once Upon a Dream (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [13]
Warnings [arrogance, stubborness, violence]
Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:35 pm

What a build up and such detail on the allies who drove the Witch-king from Fornost! Even the Halflings were included. I could not stop reading until it came to an end. So, we hear Glorfindel's famous prediction and perhaps a glimpse of what might drive Earnur to later be lost. Great chapter!
 
Author's replied on Mon May 04, 2015 2:40 pm
Thank you, I'm glad you've enjoyed the chapter! All these allies always make me go crazy trying to get them straight haha.
 
Flame of Gondolin, book 4: Once Upon a Dream (R)
by Malinwen.

Chapters [19]
Reviews [13]
Warnings [arrogance, stubborness, violence]
Thu Apr 23, 2015 4:37 am

Entertaining chapter - with Anárië's impatience, Aranarth’s arrival and a duel between Galdor and Anárië. I especially enjoyed the interactions between Anárië and Cirdan. Impatient, she was not happy with Cirdan's "we wait for a sign' decree. Although Anárië would count as old in my book - she still is not inscrutable as Cirdan. Perhaps Elrond saw Aranarth and King Arvedui had escaped the fall of Fornost but did not want that knowledge advertised or perhaps risk bringing the enemy's eye on the fleeing Dunedain. Well I'm sure your tale will enlighten us soon enough.
 
Author's replied on Sat Apr 25, 2015 4:42 am
Oh, Anárië is, in fact, old by this point - according to Aranarth and his kin, that is. Círdan also recognizes it, but at the same time, he is of Teleri descent and not Noldo, like she is. I try to play up some characteristics of the different Elven tribes, aka the Noldor were particularly bad at waiting and not getting angry. Thank you for reviewing!